Pasta with Bacon and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Pasta the way it oughta be - fresh tasting and lightly dressed. But...I used fresh, diced, red-ripe tomatoes,no garlic powder, no dried basil. I used bright green, frozen peas, not bothering to cook them. I used regular bacon and found I needed to add some butter to the pasta at the end. I didn't measure anything, just added and tossed till it was delicious and looked right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
very good, quick easy meal. I did not have turkey bacon on hand so I used very lean center cut bacon. I didn't see the point of using garlic powder and fresh garlic so I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic in place of the garlic powder and added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, I also upped the basil, and added some oregano too. I am not a canned pea person so I used frozen peas and cooked a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
very nice i made it with passata so it was very quick no simmering needed i also followed yolandas tips the cayenne pepper great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed the combination of flavors and textures in this recipe. Thought it was a nice change from the usual spaghetti/pasta sauce. I followed the suggestion to use coriander and used parmesan cheese for a topping. I also "swished" out the remaining tomato sauce in the can with a little wine and then added that to the sauce-gave it another flavor layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I didn't care for this recipe at all. To me the bacon flavor did not work with the sauce and the cheese didn't go flavorwise with the rest of the food. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I thought this recipe was great, but I did make a few additions to it. I added: 1/4 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp italian seasoning, 1/4 tsp cayenne red pepper and 1/4 tsp Coriander. I added all the additional ingredients at the same time as with the garlic and basil. I didn't have fresh basil, so I added 1 tsp of dried basil. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I didn't love this recipe. It was sort of in-between...not too spicy, not bland, but couldn't really get a good taste out of it, everything just sort of blended together. Not sure if that's at all helpful, but I'm not planning to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I liked this recipe. It reminded me of something my mom used to make us growing up. I've made it twice now but used my home grown tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I used regular bacon and I tossed it with rigatoni noodles instead of spaghetti. Makes a a nice change for a pasta dish without being too heavy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States