Pasta e Olio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
With the exception of the cayenne pepper, this is the traditional pasta with garlic and olive oil I grew up with in my Italian family. If anything, we add a bit of crushed red pepper flakes to taste, but it is just as traditional and tasty without. This is the Italian version of buttered noodles--and it's darn good. Also delicious with a sprinkle of grated fresh Parmesan or Romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Now THIS is the way to do Olio ;) The only thing I changed is using whole cloves of garlic rather than chopped garlic - it is more "traditional" that way. As for cooking the garlic for 10-15 minutes - you are normally supposed to discard the (whole clove of) garlic after you have cooked it in the oil. The reason for doing this is that the oil becomes infused with the garlic flavour... However, since this version uses chopped garlic instead of whole cloves - I would cook it for 3-5 minutes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2000
Not a good kid recipe because of the spicy red pepper flakes (but omit them and the kids will eat this up). I've added quartered canned artichokes and black olives. Also try shaped pasta, adds a little excitement to the meal. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is a great side dish, but frankly I could eat it as a main dish all by itself because it's just that good. I topped it with a bit of parmesan and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
AMAZING recipe!! My husband and I enjoyed this dish. It was easy to cook with the time crunch I was in and the spices gave it the "kick" I like in sauces. DON'T change a thing!! It's very good and if you use the right pasta, it's healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was fantastic! I however added a lot more garlic than the recipe called for. I also added a handfull of whole garlic cloves. It took about 7 minutes longer to cook with the whole garlic cloves. Next time i make this i will also try to add some fresh steamed veggies to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy F
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I loved it! I added extra garlic and sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on top. Yum! I served it with broccoli, which was very good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe is soooooo yummy. Its especially great for a light lunch. Its so quick and easy it has quickly become one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaAlly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Miami Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I really liked this dish. I will make it a lot when it is just me for dinner since it is so easy to adjust for just one person. My husband didn't care for it, but he can't stand not having meat for dinner. The taste is really very mild and subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States