Pasta e Fagioli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Yum Yum! I had the most incredible soup while on my honeymoon in Rome. Since returning I have craved it and have been disappointed by the American version which resembles Chili with pasta. This recipe is as close as I could find with few minor changes: I omitted the tomato juice and used 1 can of crushed tomatoes instead. I used Great Northern Beans instead of the red beans. I used fresh basil. I used Acini de pepe pasta. I added 1 cup fresh chopped spinach. I also added 2 more cups of chicken broth. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was very good, but with modifications: hubby and I love this soup from Olive Garden, so I used 2 lbs. of ground beef instead of the proscioutto, and I doubled the cayenne and added a couple drops of tabasco sauce for added quick. Also, I didn't have tomato juice, so I used two cans of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce. Lastly, I threw in a little brown sugar to carmelize the onions as they were sauteing. Lastly, top with freshly grated parmesean! Fabulous! (I tried the recipe exactly as written the first time, but it was bland, so I couldn't quite give it a full 5 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Delicious!!! I made a couple of changes, that you might want to try though. I added a can of crushed tomatoes and a small can of tomato paste to thicken the soup slightly. But the flavor was not changed one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Excellent recipe! We ate all the soup in one sitting. I substituted 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar for the white vinegar, 8 oz tomato sauce for 8 oz of tomato juice, and used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I made this recipe for my Italian father -- he loved it and has already shared the recipe with friends. For storing leftovers, be sure to store the soup and pasta in separate bowls or the pasta will absorb most of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Made several times already. Everyone enjoys this recipe, especially during the winter months! It has been put in the "favorites" file. Thanks Kathy. I have modified the followng just for preference sake: red onion, lean ground beef instead of prosciutto, 1/2 chicken 1/2 vegtable broth, tomato sauce instead of juice, balsamic instead of white vinegar, and upped the seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
:)Excellent!!!!!This soup was so good we could not stop eating it!!!Great flavor!! I've made it twice so far and will definately be making it again soon! I made it for company and they loved it too and asked me for the recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaMack
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Followed others advice, used diced tomatoes and a bit of tomato paste. Added green beans and white beans. Tripled the garlic and used chopped carrots vs. grated. Also didnt have enough broth so added water and turned out FAB!!! Husband and mother-in-law raved. I impressed myself even. Thanks for the great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colusa, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
An excellent recipe. We too substituted the crushed tomatoes for the tomato juice. One suggestion from my son; perhaps add less pasta next time. One of those recipes where one can be creative as you wish and add whatever sounds good from the fridge -or- garden ........ we added some sliced zucchini, fresh basil. Will definely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I made this for a potluck at work and everyone really enjoyed it. I had to add a lot more liquid but it still turned out good. I had a friend come over to help me finish off leftovers and she couldn't stop yapping about how great it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States