Pasta e Fagioli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Really great recipe! I used about a pound of ground beef instead of ham, and I only had half the amount of tomato juice so I used a can of diced tomatoes. Also added a few drops of Tapatio hot sauce. Next time I'll add a couple more carrots and celery stalks, they are delicious in this soup. Other then that, my partner and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Mmm. I really like this soup, and so did the bf! I did change a few things--didn't have onions or proscuitto, so I just left them out and upped the garlic. I subbed garbanzo beans for the kidney beans (I know, I know, but I'm out of kidney beans and have tons of garbanzo beans), used sliced carrots instead of grated, and had no tomato juice so I subbed tomato sauce. Bc of the tomato sauce and the fact that I simmered for about 2 hours, not one, it ended up a really thick soup, almost like a pasta sauce or stew. If I want it thinner less time I'll either use tomato juice or add some water. I didn't cook the pasta entirely--letf it a bit underdone so it would be okay in the leftovers. Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Even better the 2nd day. I had to substitute 2 teaspoons Italian Seasoning for the parsley. Used a 15 oz can of kidney beans for the red beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Awesome, I have tried three different recipes so far and this one was the best. I subsituted hamburg for the ham. And crushed tomatoes for the sauce. The next time I will add more vegetables and beans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKYD20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Put me on the list of satisfied customers! This soup is delicious and quick and easy to make. I didn't think it was bland at all. A definite repeat that I'll be eating all weekend. I took the suggestion of someone else and used hamburger as it seemed as if it would add a bit more substance to the soup than proscut. I also threw some grated parmesan on top just because it was there. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was good soup! I accidentally used more cayenne than called for, so it was on the spicy side, which my bf and I like. I added zucchini to the veggies, and instead of using pasta, I added a can of lima beans in addition to the can of kidney (red) beans. All in all a healthy, hearty soup! Virtually fat free. One reccommendation: Tomato juice and chicken broth have lots of salt in them already, unless you get low sodium liquids. Use any additional salt sparingly, if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is the best. I add more chicken broth, and I add a can of red, a can of white, and a can of Caninelli beans. This is a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe. I have made it so many times for company and for my family. Everyone loves it! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach68

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cicero, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was great - followed the recipe pretty closely, except for minor changes. Instead of prosciutto I used 1/4 lb smoked turkey sausage (Hillshire Farms). Didn't know what ditalini was and didn't have any, so I used some Maltagliati that I had - a very thin spaghetti or fine egg noodle - tossed it with a little olive oil after I cooked and drained it, so it wouldn't stick together. We ladled the soup into bowls over the pasta, and it was great - great flavor with the turkey sausage I used. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Living in arizona it is still high 90's although to us this is fall. I wanted soup and this was good idid make mine vegetarian. My son is very picky and will not eat this but my neice was here today(she's 11) Was hungry and took this out and heated it up and loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States