Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
While I modified the recipe a bit (used pepperoni instead of ham and canned beans instead of dry) this is the best Pasta e Fagioli I've ever made. I have a salon in an older Italian neighborhood. Many tried it and the oohs and ahhs were unbelievable. Several asked for the receipe... what a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I used pancetta because I had some on hand (I started it in w/ the celery, carrot & onion)...I also added about a lb. of ground round (cooked, of course). I used a can of cannellini & also a can of red kidney beans. I used half chicken broth & half beef broth as I didn't want too "beefy" a taste & I probably had to increase the liquids by double since I added additional ingredents. I did simmer the rind from the parmesan cheese in the soup...thanks for the tip! I went w/ macaroni instead of seashell pasta (Gosh I made a lot of changes...sorry) & I separated enough soup to have for dinner & then added about half a cup of pasta to it. The rest I froze & will add the pasta when I cook it. That way my macaroni doesn't turn to mush. Served it w/ garlic breadsticks & a ceasar salad. Thansk Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was soooooo good! My husband and I loved it! Easy to make, cheap, and delicious! The ultimate comfort food. I did use canned beans, and I used half chicken stock/ half beef stock. Other than that, I made it just as called for. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I added ground beef, forgot the salt and added a few crushed red pepper flakes, then added a touch of salt. This made the soup a sweet, hardy, delicious soup. I also cut the ham chunks small after reading one review that the ham was tough. I learned in culinary school that it is important to keep the vegatables and meats cut uniformly, so that they will cook uniformly. My wife and I went back for thirds, my 14 years old seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this recipe is amazing. its the closest thing ive ever got to the smell in my grandmas kitchen. The second time i did use more stock, because the first time it had more the consistency of chili and i wanted it a little soupier, I used half chicken and half beef stock! awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Impressive, quick, and easy. I used the ham luncheon meat only because my wife isn't much of a ham fan and it wouldn't make sense to buy anything larger than that. This dish is great when garnished with 2/3 parts grated parmesian and 1/3 part grated romano. Maybe next time I'll add some ground beef to it to give it more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
nice recipe except I made a few changes. I used chicken stock, tomto paste or tomato sauce, fresh basil & oregano & chopped smoked bacon instead of the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Delicious!!! A great and filling recipe. Added 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of garbanzo beans. My family loved it and we will make it again. One word of caution, it will thicken up, so if you want it more "soupy" add extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Followed reciped except used dried thyme and a little Italian seasoning too, plus doubled the garlic. I also added red pepper flake as the soup we had at our favorite restaurant had it and it was delish. So glad I tried this- going into our growing soup rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I'm not sure what pasta e fagioli is supposed to taske like since I've never had it before, but this was excellent! My husband wasn't thrilled when I said we were having soup for dinner, but he thought it was very good. I will most definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisrfct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States