Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
While I modified the recipe a bit (used pepperoni instead of ham and canned beans instead of dry) this is the best Pasta e Fagioli I've ever made. I have a salon in an older Italian neighborhood. Many tried it and the oohs and ahhs were unbelievable. Several asked for the receipe... what a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Impressive, quick, and easy. I used the ham luncheon meat only because my wife isn't much of a ham fan and it wouldn't make sense to buy anything larger than that. This dish is great when garnished with 2/3 parts grated parmesian and 1/3 part grated romano. Maybe next time I'll add some ground beef to it to give it more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I used pancetta because I had some on hand (I started it in w/ the celery, carrot & onion)...I also added about a lb. of ground round (cooked, of course). I used a can of cannellini & also a can of red kidney beans. I used half chicken broth & half beef broth as I didn't want too "beefy" a taste & I probably had to increase the liquids by double since I added additional ingredents. I did simmer the rind from the parmesan cheese in the soup...thanks for the tip! I went w/ macaroni instead of seashell pasta (Gosh I made a lot of changes...sorry) & I separated enough soup to have for dinner & then added about half a cup of pasta to it. The rest I froze & will add the pasta when I cook it. That way my macaroni doesn't turn to mush. Served it w/ garlic breadsticks & a ceasar salad. Thansk Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was soooooo good! My husband and I loved it! Easy to make, cheap, and delicious! The ultimate comfort food. I did use canned beans, and I used half chicken stock/ half beef stock. Other than that, I made it just as called for. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Great Soup on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This soup was suprisingly good. I was looking to make a vegetable pasta soup, and I used the recipe ingredients and added a couple of other things. I added some peas, a zucchini, doubled the beans (which I used from a can), doubled the garlic, carrots, and celery, substituted rice pasta shells instead of regular pasta and used 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 beef stock instead of all beef stock. It was really flavorful, and incredibly easy and quick to make with the canned beans. My husband loved it, and you can make a lot and have leftovers. This is a real keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very good soup. I used canned great northern beans for this recipe and used Gemilli pasta. It went over very well at our soup supper at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The flavors in the soup blended well. I would have liked more texture. Once the pasta & beans cooked down, it had the same feel in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this recipe is amazing. its the closest thing ive ever got to the smell in my grandmas kitchen. The second time i did use more stock, because the first time it had more the consistency of chili and i wanted it a little soupier, I used half chicken and half beef stock! awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This soup turned out very well. I didn't measure the ingredients exactly but it turned out great. The only downside was the ham cubes got a little tough from simmering but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States