Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was REALLY good...I used leeks instead of onion, and bok choy instead of the celery but just bc that's what I had on hand. Despite an unfortunate incident while cooking (I taught myself how NOT to use a pressure cooker lol)what was left of the soup was very flavorful and definitely something I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Used 1# ground beef & 1/2# spicy sausage in lieu of ham. Added extra garlic -- probably at least double; extra stock (had to add 1 can chicken broth as I ran out of beef, but then threw in some beef boullion); used canned navy beans-drained & rinsed; added basil and oregano and a bit more pasta. Served w/grated parmesan. Yummy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Omg so delish!!!! This is simple but absolutely amazing. I did add a little crushed red pepper and used a 3/4 beef, 1/4 chicken stock combo. My daughter rated this a 10 star dish. She had thirds. Will definitely be making this again. Thank u for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made this for part of Sunday lunch....tried a bit ,was delicious. Just like my mom used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
nice recipe except I made a few changes. I used chicken stock, tomto paste or tomato sauce, fresh basil & oregano & chopped smoked bacon instead of the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I'm not sure what pasta e fagioli is supposed to taske like since I've never had it before, but this was excellent! My husband wasn't thrilled when I said we were having soup for dinner, but he thought it was very good. I will most definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisrfct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is a delicious way to use leftover ham. I used 2 C chicken stock and 2 C beef stock instead of all beef stock. My only issue was with soaking the beans. I have never cooked with dried bean so I wasn't sure about the appropriate amount of time. Eight hours soaking was enough, next time I will try overnight or I will used canned beans. Otherwise, I loved this soup. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I added ground beef, forgot the salt and added a few crushed red pepper flakes, then added a touch of salt. This made the soup a sweet, hardy, delicious soup. I also cut the ham chunks small after reading one review that the ham was tough. I learned in culinary school that it is important to keep the vegatables and meats cut uniformly, so that they will cook uniformly. My wife and I went back for thirds, my 14 years old seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Delicious!!! A great and filling recipe. Added 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of garbanzo beans. My family loved it and we will make it again. One word of caution, it will thicken up, so if you want it more "soupy" add extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Followed reciped except used dried thyme and a little Italian seasoning too, plus doubled the garlic. I also added red pepper flake as the soup we had at our favorite restaurant had it and it was delish. So glad I tried this- going into our growing soup rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States