Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Love, Love,Love this recipe, quick and easy and very yummy! Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma june

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent soup....followed others with the diced italian tomatoes....great with bread sticks or mozzarella sticks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Crabill-Pearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
tis is a very nice recipe except I used tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent dish! I'm devouring a bowl as I write this. I'm sure it will taste even better tomorrow. Thanks to many helpful posts, here are my substitutions/changes: I added 1 lb. browned/drained ground beef (85/15%); substituted diced tom. and 2 tbsp. dried parsley; added a few shakes of salt; chopped 4-5 cloves of garlic (I just learned that chopping garlic helps it not to burn when cooked with onions); and used ditalini pasta because that's what my grandmother always uses in her soups. I love this dish and will be enjoying it for a few days! Also, I completely agree with many posts...don't add the pasta until you plate the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrkahl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Easy and delicious! And best of all - the 4 year old gobbled it up :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Yum. I was glad to find this recipe since it didn't have a lot of extra's in it. My grandmother always made this very simply. I did use crushed tomatoes instead of stewed because I didn't want the chucks of tomatoes in the soup. Also I didn't really measure the broth just poured it in until it looked right. And I didn't have any shell pasta so I used elbow. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I tried the recipe as is but found the flavour to be pretty bland. After reading through other ratings I made the following changes: Subbed the stewed tomatoes with puréed. Added about about another cup of broth. Added 1/2 cup chopped carrots and 1/2 cup chopped celery. I also made the pasta separately and added to each bowl then poured the soup over it. I find the pasta tends to absorb a lot of the liquid if you add it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
The flavor of the dish was very yummy. Unfortunately, I didn't have canned beans, so I used dried. Even after soaking for 24 hours and cooking for over one hour, the beans were still pretty crunchy. Not good. I strongly recommend using only canned beans-unless you have a pressure cooker and know how to use it. Next time I will do that and it will be very good! This is a good recipe if you are on a low fat, low sodium diet. I used homemade chick broth from this site, and low sodium tomatoes to further reduce the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was very good. I did make a few small changes. I omitted the olive oil and water fried the onion and garlic. I used one pint bottle of home bottled tomatoes from my garden. I used 2 cups of peruano beans that I already had in my refrigerator. I omitted the pepper (I don't care for it.) and used dried parsley. The next time I make it, I will add more beans. (I LOVE beans!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I substituted a 28-oz can of Cento All-in-One Crushed Tomatoes for the stewed tomatoes, and used Ditalini pasta instead of shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States