Pasta and White Beans Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Surprisingly tasty and well balanced flavours. I used chickpeas instead of white beans and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made it as written but doubled the parmesan. I also didn't cook it in the oven. I didn't see the need to dirty another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We felt this was WAY too dry. If I were to try this again, I think I would add spinach, egg and shredded mozzarella to the beans and pasta to give it some more flavor, color and moistness. The ricotta/parm/garlic was a lovely flavor combo, especially with the crispy bread crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Hearty! I added veggie stock to the cheese mix to keep it from the dryness others had stated. Roasted some brussel sprouts since I had the oven on to go with it. Whole wheat pasta and lower fat cheese made it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed all the suggestions - adding some chili zip, the egg, the zucchini. My sister really loved the results, and it was really healthy; however, I had difficulty getting excited about this one. It seemed like it was a conglomeration of several different recipes all mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I added some very small chopped zucchini and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This came out lovely the night i made it, and as far as leftovers, i added 1/2 C pasta sauce to each serving and reheated with excellent results :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARENELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Amazing but only four stars because it needed some help. I used 1 tomato and 1 can of beans but added a zucchini and a can of olives for more variety. I also used mozzarella on top instead of bread crumbs to top it off as other suggested. I also added more olive oil to the basil to keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
In order to help the dryness that other reviewers have noted, I added a beaten egg to the ricotta mixture first. Also, I used dried herbs as I didn't have fresh available. Oh, and I didn't have balsamic vineagar, so I used a splash of red wine and a splash of white wine vineagar. I did have to add a bit of salt and pepper to give it a little more "ooomph", too. I served it with fresh green beans and Italian bread. My husband loved it and was very impressed, but my toddler didn't like the ricotta. Also, I found that the timing worked out better if I put the pasta to boil in one pot and then sauted/simmered the onion/bean mixture at the same time. That way they were done simmering when the pasta was finished cooking, shaving 20 minutes off the recipe time. It wasn't worth it to me to save not having to wash one extra pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
We found this recipe to be dry and bland despite having added extra balsamic and shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Pasta with Corn, Black Beans, & Avocado

Iowa inspires a simple pasta salad with corn, beans, avocado, and cotija cheese.

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States