Pasta and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Super-easy to make, and the basic ingredients are fanastic to start with! I'd recommend adding some more veggies and/or seasoning if you want a bit more of a flavor. Overall, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I used frozen peas and added garlic, fresh ground pepper and a little fresh grated parmesan and this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
As is, this is a 3 star recipe. A bit bland and not much to it. I added a couple large handfuls of parmesan, a couple dashes of pepper, and an extra splash of olive oil and that made it more of a 4 star recipe. Would be good with chopped chicken. I used frozen peas with some of the water used to boil. Hate that can liquid stuff. Also, I don't recommend using all the pasta because it dilutes the flavor a bit. Add the pasta slowly as you are tossing and taste it. I used about 3/4 of the amount in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I also used frozen peas and pasta water as the liquid and I thought this was pretty darn good considering how easy it was to make! I also added some black pepper and grated some cheddar cheese over it... I will definitely make this again! Great as a side dish with chicken too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paola g

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is so easy and so delicious! My kids love it and I can never get them to eat peas. The only change I made was to add 1 14oz. can of Italian style tomato sauce. I also put the noodles on our plates and then pour sauce over it. I don't always like to mix the sauce with the pasta because the pasta soaks up the sauce if it sits too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Pretty darn good! I had to make a few substitutions based on what was on hand. White onion for the green and I added a ton of fresh garlic. Bag of Frozen peas and a cup of veggie broth for the canned peas. The fresh basil is a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good and very simple. Only difference was that I used a white onion instead of the green, used frozen instead of canned peas, and added some minced garlic. Wonderful with the fresh basil. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Good simple dish. I used a 16 oz. package of frozen peas and added 3/4 cup of bouillon in place of the canned peas. We just served the peas over the pasta rather than mixing it all together. Lots of flavor to this easy dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I'm sorry but this was just incredibly bland. This was even after adding roasted garlic to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This a nice starting point for a quick and delicious pasta dish. I've been making something similar for years with fresh garden peas but you could use frozen as well. Start out by heating some olive oil in a pan (cover bottom of pan) and add some fresh garlic cloves - saute lightly. Then add 1/2 - 1 cup of heavy cream (depending upon the amount of peas you are using), let that heat at low temp for about 10 minutes. In the meantime, cut up your fresh herbs of choice, we love Basil & Parsley. Grate some fresh Locatelli or other romano cheese and put aside with herbs. Cook pasta of your choice, drain and put aside (I try to have the pasta finish just as the sauce is ready). When sauce is ready, take it off the heat, I remove the garlic cloves (my kids don't like them in there but you can leave in or mash if you want), add fresh cooked pasta, herbs and fresh grated romano cheese, mix well and serve immediately. Serve with fresh pepper so guests can add to taste. So yummy and even my picky kids will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States