Pasta and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I agree with other ratings: As it is, this is a 3-star recipe -- easy to make but a bit bland. To make this a 4-star recipe and family favorite, use frozen peas steamer package cooked in microwave (subtract 1 minute from max cooking time). Add 1 cup of chicken broth to cooked peas (in leui of canned liquid). Toss 1 cup shredded Parmesan cheese with cooked pasta, and cooked veggies and herb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Easy to make, healthy, and pretty to look at. Used low carb pasta and really enjoyed the fresh flavors of the veggies. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Since the recipe looked bland to me, I added garlic and shallots. It was still rather bland so I added fresh parmesan and ground pepper. I still felt like it needs a zip of some kind. I might try again with a few more additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I grew up on this with a lot of added garlic and shell pasta, to catch the peas of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Panuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
With a few changes, this was fantastic and I'll definitely make again. Instead of oil, I chopped up three slices of bacon and cooked them in the skillet. Removed the cooked bacon and added garlic and green onion to the bacon fat and cooked. Then added the peas until heated. Added the cooked chopped bacon back in and tossed with bow ties. The entire family loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This a nice starting point for a quick and delicious pasta dish. I've been making something similar for years with fresh garden peas but you could use frozen as well. Start out by heating some olive oil in a pan (cover bottom of pan) and add some fresh garlic cloves - saute lightly. Then add 1/2 - 1 cup of heavy cream (depending upon the amount of peas you are using), let that heat at low temp for about 10 minutes. In the meantime, cut up your fresh herbs of choice, we love Basil & Parsley. Grate some fresh Locatelli or other romano cheese and put aside with herbs. Cook pasta of your choice, drain and put aside (I try to have the pasta finish just as the sauce is ready). When sauce is ready, take it off the heat, I remove the garlic cloves (my kids don't like them in there but you can leave in or mash if you want), add fresh cooked pasta, herbs and fresh grated romano cheese, mix well and serve immediately. Serve with fresh pepper so guests can add to taste. So yummy and even my picky kids will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
To Improve This Dish Use Fresh Or Frozen Peas, Add Pancetta, And Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Taking into consideration the reviewers who thought this was on the bland side, I made a few changes: added 2 cloves minced garlic, used frozen peas, added parmesan and some truffle infused sea salt and to be honest, it was still a bit on the bland side. However, I think a little butter, more parmesan and maybe some cooked pancetta would turn this into a delicious and elegant dish. I did enjoy it with my changes - I thought it was a nice, simple dish as well as fast and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good and very simple. Only difference was that I used a white onion instead of the green, used frozen instead of canned peas, and added some minced garlic. Wonderful with the fresh basil. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love this recipe! So simple and flavorful - I like to use pipette pasta so the peas get stuck inside the pasta - yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States