Pasta and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Cold weather can make you do funny things. For instance, grocery shopping; how does one forget to go grocery shopping? Apparently, I do. With a high of -16 degrees today in CHI-BERIA, I was in no mood to go out to the store, so rummaging through my cabinet, I found some pasta. We always have a jar of garlic in the fridge, so I figured I'd make a quick pasta dish to fill my belly. This recipe, while basic, is the perfect starting point to let your creativity flow. I added crushed red pepper flakes for a bit of heat. Some chicken, shrimp, veggies, etc would also be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
love this recipe. I turn it into a main dish by adding sauteed fresh broccoli and browned kielbasa delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
it 's a very Italian dish that I made several times , even if I usually don't care for . You must be sure to have enough virgin olive oil ,pepper, and enough garlic and grated cheese for this dish. I also add sometimes a spoon of sweet butter and 2 full spoons of fresh tender peas ...( but not many...) By the way, another great pasta-dish which you don't have in your link (but you should have ..)it is , a pasta-dish that my mother used to make all the time in Italy when I was a girl ....Too bad you don't have this recipe dish ! I make it for my Norwegian husband who loves pasta dishes much more than I do....I will send you the Norma Dish recipe if you will ask for it.... SILVANA / USA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Been making this for years but use Asiago cheese, top with chopped "fresh" parsley" use pure (no cheap blends) olive oil from Sicily. If you want great taste then buy where Italians buy. Cheap supermarket substitutes won't get it done. Terrific and simple dish with marvelous taste but requires spending a few extra cents to do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
i think what helps is to boil the pasta with a teaspoon of salt aside from the oil (to prevent it from sticking). Also, put some of the garlic (1-2 tablespoons) on the shrimp with a tablespoon of lemon juice and set it aside so it will add flavor to the shrimp. you can do this before you start boiling the pasta so the flavor will stick. when the pasta is almost done, start working on the garlic. after you saute the garlic (once it's light brown, add the shrimp mixture in and put in the cooked pasta. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I increased the garlic to three cloves. Added some homemade chicken broth. Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a simple recipe, and a great base. I liked that it was light on the olive oil; I don't like too much of its strong flavor in my dishes. We did feel that it needed more garlic, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The pasta shape really does matter. I would use spaghetti or thin spaghetti next time. My husband and I ordered this in a restaurant once and that is what they used. I made it this time with fettuccini and it may sound silly but it made a difference in the taste. I bake it with mozzarella cheese on top after also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this dish for the first time tonight and it was delicious! I used about 0.75 lb of past and a little less than 0.25 cup of olive oil with 3 garlic cloves. Next time I'll have it with some steamed vegetables for a balanced meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very good pasta dish that is easy and quick to fix. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States