Pasta and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was not a good recipe. I did everything exactly the way that it told me to, and still when I served it everyone complained that it tasted like regular pasta. So I added some of the oil that the garlic had cooked in to see if that would help but it didn't. After that, I was led to grind garlic salt on it but then the texture turned out all grainy and everything. All in all, we ended up having to throw it out because we had no other ideas for a way to make it taste like garlic. If you do decide to make this recipe, I recommend trying to mince several cloves of garlic instead of crushing just the one, but if you do not want to do that then just don't make it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Loved this recipe. I added half cup of green peas and 3-4 rashers of bacon (chopped and fried) to please my meat loving husband. I like to idea of infusing the garlic in the oil. A great recipe becomes a favourite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe! My daughter loved it so much that she made sure we had enough leftover so she could take it to school for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I make this recipe all the time; the trick is to add up to one cup of the pasta water to the pasta. The pasta then is not so dry. Use more extra virgin OO and much more garlic. Now....that's Italian!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I tried this without modifying it. It was really plain and the garlic pieces were the best part. I don't know why, but it was just very bland for me. I added salt, pepper and parmesan just as it said, to taste, but it doesn't help. I expected it to taste more like the boxed kind of Garlic and Olive Oil pasta which is what I wanted, but it doesn't at all taste like it. It's good, just not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I add 3 or more cloves of garlic bc I love love love garlic. One thing I'd note is to make sure you salt and pepper to taste when you've mixed the pasta and oil together otherwise you may not have enough. * add red flakes for some extra taste = amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Cold weather can make you do funny things. For instance, grocery shopping; how does one forget to go grocery shopping? Apparently, I do. With a high of -16 degrees today in CHI-BERIA, I was in no mood to go out to the store, so rummaging through my cabinet, I found some pasta. We always have a jar of garlic in the fridge, so I figured I'd make a quick pasta dish to fill my belly. This recipe, while basic, is the perfect starting point to let your creativity flow. I added crushed red pepper flakes for a bit of heat. Some chicken, shrimp, veggies, etc would also be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
love this recipe. I turn it into a main dish by adding sauteed fresh broccoli and browned kielbasa delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
it 's a very Italian dish that I made several times , even if I usually don't care for . You must be sure to have enough virgin olive oil ,pepper, and enough garlic and grated cheese for this dish. I also add sometimes a spoon of sweet butter and 2 full spoons of fresh tender peas ...( but not many...) By the way, another great pasta-dish which you don't have in your link (but you should have ..)it is , a pasta-dish that my mother used to make all the time in Italy when I was a girl ....Too bad you don't have this recipe dish ! I make it for my Norwegian husband who loves pasta dishes much more than I do....I will send you the Norma Dish recipe if you will ask for it.... SILVANA / USA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Been making this for years but use Asiago cheese, top with chopped "fresh" parsley" use pure (no cheap blends) olive oil from Sicily. If you want great taste then buy where Italians buy. Cheap supermarket substitutes won't get it done. Terrific and simple dish with marvelous taste but requires spending a few extra cents to do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States