Pasta and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Better method-Use 1 head cauliflower cut into florets and seasoned with 2-3 tablespoons olive oil, salt, pepper, and minced garlic to taste. Roast on a baking sheet in a 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes. Meanwhile, make pasta and drain. Toss cauliflower and pasta together (with olive oil from baking sheet) and add 1/2 cup pasta water. Combine. Top with cheese. YUMMY! Something truly wonderful happens when you roast cauliflower. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I always roast the cauliflower instead of steaming it. It adds so much more flavor. I toss it with a little olive oil (about 2 tbls per lg head of cauliflower), salt, pepper, granulated garlic and a little onion powder and then roast it in a very hot oven (425*) until very golden brown and pretty limp. Toss that in with your pasta and you will see why roasting the cauliflower instead of steaming it makes all the difference in the world. This is a very common menu item for Meatless Mondays at our house. A lg, full head of cauliflower is just enough for a 16 oz. box of pasta and feeds a family of four nicely as a main dish, with leftovers for the next day. If you can't find a good sized cauliflower (at least 2 to 2 1/2 pounds) then buy two smaller ones. Break the cauliflower up into pieces about as large as a toddler's fist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I used a head of cauliflower and two bunches of brocolli in this recipe. I also found that using 2 tablespoons of oil was enough. I used shredded parmesan cheese instead of grated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
I have made this twice now and we have decided it is a "keeper". I did not use 1/2 cup of oil, more like 1-2 T., and a little more pamesan cheese. Delicious!! Better than boring steamed cauliflower!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is the second time I've reviewed this recipe, but I can't seem to edit my initial post...In an attempt to avoid having to wash another pan, I merely "steamed" the cauliflower with the onion and garlic powder in a covered saute pan. When they were tender I added some white wine and butter for extra flavor and to make a sort of sauce for the pasta. I tossed the cooked pasta with the veggie mixture before topping with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Used less oil & added some pasta water as suggested. Also, added 1/4 cup pinenuts & one more clove of garlic, omitted garlic powder. Quick & Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was a pretty good meal. I made a few changes though - I roasted the cauliflower and onion in the oven and I think that really made a lot of difference. I coated them in about 2 TBS of olive oil and that was plenty. I also added a bit more garlic then was called for. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I did add about 1/2 cup of the pasta water to the mix afterwards, which really helped with the dryness. It was very tasty, but next time I will definitely add broccoli and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I did not steam my cauliflower. Instead, I tossed it with a little EVOO and some salt/fresh ground pepper and roasted it. I did increase the garlic by a few cloves, I upped the parmesan cheese and I threw in a little crushed red pepper flake. Not only was this quick to prepare, the boys thought it was very good--even my cauliflower hating husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
For my tastes,adding a little pasta water makes this a "10"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I roasted my cauliflower first, I'm becoming a HUGE fan of roasting veggies...brings out an entirely new and IMPROVED flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States