Pasta and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I always roast the cauliflower instead of steaming it. It adds so much more flavor. I toss it with a little olive oil (about 2 tbls per lg head of cauliflower), salt, pepper, granulated garlic and a little onion powder and then roast it in a very hot oven (425*) until very golden brown and pretty limp. Toss that in with your pasta and you will see why roasting the cauliflower instead of steaming it makes all the difference in the world. This is a very common menu item for Meatless Mondays at our house. A lg, full head of cauliflower is just enough for a 16 oz. box of pasta and feeds a family of four nicely as a main dish, with leftovers for the next day. If you can't find a good sized cauliflower (at least 2 to 2 1/2 pounds) then buy two smaller ones. Break the cauliflower up into pieces about as large as a toddler's fist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was a pretty good meal. I made a few changes though - I roasted the cauliflower and onion in the oven and I think that really made a lot of difference. I coated them in about 2 TBS of olive oil and that was plenty. I also added a bit more garlic then was called for. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I did add about 1/2 cup of the pasta water to the mix afterwards, which really helped with the dryness. It was very tasty, but next time I will definitely add broccoli and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
If I had prepared this as written the most stars I would have given it would be 3. I ended up steaming the cauliflower in w/the onions after they cooked (in a LOT less oil!) for a few minutes. I had just made chix broth so I added two ladels-full and a bit of white wine for flavor. With my changes I still only gave it 4 stars. Thing is, the entire receipe is WHITE. White cauliflower, white pasta, white onions, white parm (I used Romano which was THE saving grace). I'd try again with broccoli perhaps... or perhaps not. Husband enjoyed it tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Since it was my first time making this, I realized, after the fact, that over over cooked the cauliflower a bit. I also think that using a little less olive oil would be better. Overall, the flavor of the onions and garlic, sauteed with the caulifower and paired with pasta was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My daughter and I loved this recipe! We used mixed veggies instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
a bit bland, needed extra parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I did a member's suggestion of roasting the garlic in the oven and using only 3 Tbsp of olive oil instead of 1/2 cup. We really enjoyed this! It is a great alternative to a meat dish. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Delicious and simple! I threw in some broccolli, corn, and mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I think the amount of olive oild should be cut in half, i tried with the 1/2 cup and the noodles were far too greasy for my tastes. However, my kid loved the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I roasted my cauliflower first, I'm becoming a HUGE fan of roasting veggies...brings out an entirely new and IMPROVED flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States