Pasta and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I did what most other reviewers did and roasted the cauliflower florets. I used fresh garlic, added a pinch of red pepper flakes and totally forgot the Parmesan. I really liked this and will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Google found this recipe for me when I had a bunch of leftover cauliflower. As always, I took the advice of previous reviewers and did half cauliflower and half broccoli. I also skipped the garlic powder, but added chilli flakes (3 shakes worth for a halved recipe). I also threw on a bunch of freshly ground pepper and was generous with the parmeasan. Deliciousness ensued! It was a fully satisfying meal with just enough kick. Leftovers heated up well the next day! I will definitely make again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilikeitspicy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
i admit i thought this looked lame and tasteless, but thought i'd try it b/c of the good reviews and it didn't require a trip to the store. i was wrong, it is great. as suggested, i roasted the cauliflower and onion along with A LOT of fresh pressed garlic in a drizzle of olive oil and added 1/2 c. pasta water at the end. i also decreased pasta to 1/2 lb. bc thats what i had and thought that was a good ratio -- i would never make this with the full lb. drizzeled with a little more olive oil and few shakes of cavendar's greek seasoning, topped with fresh grated parmesan -- YUM. on my third bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I did not steam my cauliflower. Instead, I tossed it with a little EVOO and some salt/fresh ground pepper and roasted it. I did increase the garlic by a few cloves, I upped the parmesan cheese and I threw in a little crushed red pepper flake. Not only was this quick to prepare, the boys thought it was very good--even my cauliflower hating husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I tried this once as written, very bland. Next time I roasted the cauliflower & onion & garlic, added olive oil, salt & pepper before roasting. Then I cooked the pasta (penne rigate) and mixed in some some leftover marinara, shredded mozzarella & parmesean. Put in in the oven until the cheese melted. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My suggestion is to avoid measuring and instead add salt, pepper, garlic powder, olive oil, Parmesan, and your own favorite shredded cheese all to your heart's desire. I roasted the cauliflower with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and it came out great! Then mixed it into the onions and added it to the pasta along with 2 types of cheese (parm and shredded Gouda). I also agree with the suggestion to add back some of the cooking water to the pasta; I used a whole grain pasta, and it soaked it right up. I can see why some people found this recipe a little dry. It's good, but the flavor is not wonderful/intense enough for 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Made this the other night and I reduced the olive oil to 3 Tablespoons...when I repeat this recipe, I'll reduce it to 2 Tablespoons. Added some chopped pepper along with the onion; omitted the garlic powder but increased the fresh garlic; subsituted fresh oregano for the parsley. This is definately a keeper and will also try it with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
We didn't really care for this. I did add the pasta water, which helped a lot, but it was still dry and kind of bland. I think we would have liked it better with some alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I thought this was very good. I roasted the cauliflower, onion, broccoli and garlic (5 cloves) in the oven with olive oil and then tossed with the pasta. I left out the additional garlic powder and used lots of freshly grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Add 2 heaping teaspoons of tomatoe paste to give it more color ans 1/2 teaspoons of red chilli flakes to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States