Pasta and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is delicious as written. Not all Italian dishes are seasoned with basil and oregano. You certainly can add any spice you want, but this dish is great as written. I seasoned "to taste" with salt, as the recipe directed, but then put black pepper and parmesan on the table so this could be added. Definitely a kid-friendly dish. Make sure to use fresh tomatoes, not canned. Cook the pasta in some salted water, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I liked this recipe....but I felt like it was a little bland..so the second time I made it I took some of the suggestions of the other reviewers...like adding spinach and parm and a little more seasonings...but this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I didn't wanna go out and go shopping, so I was looking for a recipe that called for stuff I already had in the pantry- this was it. I've never used cannellini beans before so I substituted them for pinto beans and added spices to the mix. I went a little overboard with the spices (sadly) so I didn't really like what I came out with. However, the next day, I smashed the beans and added a little bit of chedder cheese to the mix which calmed down the spices. It was fantastic!!! I will definitely make this again. A fairly healthy meal that is actually tasty is hard to come by nowadays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Nutritious, but very bland. I even like all the ingredients alone, and it still wasn't very flavorful. I even tried adding some fresh parsley, fresh garlic, and Parmesan, and it still was very meh until I salted it heavily. Perhaps it relies heavily on the salt from the canned beans to carry it? (I used dry beans I had cooked previously.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Great recipe if you are feeling too tired to cook (10 minutes! to a healthy tasty meal thats got a bit of everything - protein, carbs, veg). I think you could add a few things to your liking and make it even better - I added garlic, a pinch of cayenne pepper, oregano, and some black pepper - I think with some parmesan it would be good also but I was out of cheese! Thanks for saving my dinnertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I took some of the suggestions in the previous reviews and made this work for me. The fresh tomatoes made this authentic. This was a great, hearty winter day meal. I had it with a big salad. My results didn't look anything like the posted photo. Having lived in Italy for two years, I learned two things: buy quality olive oil and don't overcook the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used red kidney beans because it's all I had on hand -- would have been better, creamier and prettier with white beans though. While the recipe was good alone, next time I will add a small amount of tomato sauce to it as well as I prefer my noodles coated with sauce a bit more. I added some red pepper flakes to my serving (some spicy-food-haters in the household) and that sure took it up a notch! Might add some parm next time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Yummy! Easy to make and delicious. I made some very minor changes, but the original recipe was good. I sauteed the onion and then added about 7 or so cloves of minced garlic. I added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and basil before adding the tomatoes to bring out the spices. I chopped one tomato and added two cans of tomatoes with garlic, basil, and onion and 2 cans of beans. I used whole wheat elbow pasta although penne would have been perfect. When the pasta was ready, I threw in a bag of baby spinach and shut the heat off. I took about about 1/2 cup of the cooking water and added it to the beans. Drained the pasta, threw it in the pot with the tomatoes and beans and combined. Fantastic and although I doubled the recipe and added a few changes, it was a delicious vegetarian meal that even the meat eaters loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
good base recipe. i added a can of diced tomatos w/ garic. and some other seasoning. served as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States