Pasta alla Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very rich creamy and good. I used less eggs and bacon, because I didn't want the sauce too thick from all those eggs and fatty from all the bacon. This came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
We enoyed this very much. All the ingrdients can be easily altered but I think the heavy cream/egg/parm turned out to be a little bland. Perhaps a sharper cheese? or make this pasta dish like an alfredo style by simmering heavy cream/parm/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is not a traditional carbonara, but it is a delicious pasta dish. I followed the recipe exactly, but quartered the ingredients. Be warned when reducing the recipe - remove the pan from the heat before stirring in the egg/cream mixture. The eggs in the mixture will coddle quickly. I'm sure this wouldn't be the case if making the full recipe amount, but the smaller amount heats up quickly. I used whole wheat spaghetti as my pasta. I enjoyed this even more as leftovers the following day. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was a good recipe. I used half and half instead of whipping cream to save a little on the calorie side. I also found two pounds of bacon to be too much. One thing to improve upon would be when adding the egg mixture to the pan. My eggs cooked and made the sauce not very smooth. It would probably be better to add the sauce to the pan and turn off the heat or turn to low to prevent the eggs from hardening and forming clumps The hot pasta should also cook the eggs when mixing. This will be something to fine tune when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I agreed with the comment on garlic definatly needed it I also made this a basic one dish meal added garlic, cut carrots, yellow pepper, and brocolli to the mix and it came out very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DottieS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Satisfying but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I thought this was wonderful and the whole family agreed. Boyfriend had three helpings! I followed the recommendations to add the parsley and red pepper to the egg mixture before adding it to the bacon. This will definitely become one of our regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg2943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
No very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Perhaps when scaling the recipe down it altered the overall flavor of the dish, but whatever it was, it started a fight with my hubby over what real Pasta alla Carbonara is. The taste wasn't horrible it just wasn't uber yummy and not what Hubby had expected at all in the flavor department. I'm going to keep looking for a better recipe. BTW, The instructions are incomplete and ought to be review. If it weren't for other reviews by users, I wouldn't have known when to add the parsley and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I followed the review of user PEGT2865 and made the following changes: Used 1 1/2 lbs of pasta; added 3 cloves of minced garlic to the onions; used olive oil; used 2 pkgs of bacon (1 pkg regular, 1 pkg turkey bacon); increased amount of mushrooms and finally, I added a can of sweet peas. The recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_YU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States