Pasta With Veggies In a Tahini and Yogurt Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This recipe has become one of our weekly standards. Very quick, and quite tasty. The sauce is thin,(it just coats the noodles and veggies), but has not in my experience ever curdled. I have never cooked it though, just heated it until warm - this takes less than a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Delicious! I used 3/4 cup water instead, the sauce was thin but not overly so. I also had no veggies, but it was still very good. The flavours complemented eachother so well. Over spaghetti, this made for a perfect light lunch. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Don't be afraid of this recipe. I've been intrigued by it for awhile but was concerned about some of the negative reviews. It turned out excellent for me. Some tips that I think will solve other's problems: 1. You don't need water, the yogurt produces a nice creamy sauce without it. 2. If you think it's bland, add more garlic and hot sauce/cayanne. 3. To avoid the curdle problem altogether, wisk the sauce ingredients together and add to the completed dish w/out heating. The heat of the noodles and veggies will warm the sauce plenty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Used equal amounts of Tahini and Yogurt. Added water slowly until desired thickness was achieved. Cut one Portobella mushroom and added to veggies. Hubby and I both really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yummy. Based on other reviews, I don't think I used any water to avoid a runny sauce. If I added any liquid, it might have been vegetable broth. Can't remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great! I did tinker the recipe (actually used the recipe as a guide and did my own thing.) This is a keeper and it seems like one can go in many directions in terms of veggies and added spices herbs. I used mostly the same ingredients (but for eg. used low fat yogurt instead and diff veggies) and eyeballed quantity bc I planned to use 1/2 box of ziti. I used a full bag frozen veggies. I sauteed chicken cut up with chopped onion. Threw in some chopped fresh parsley. I added cumin and paprika and ground cayenne to the sauce. Also I did not added the recommended water to the sauce I ended up saving pasta water to thin down if needed after all was mixed. The sauce I added after everything was mixed to avoid curdling as per one of the other users suggestions (avoiding heating over a flame.) It worked. I am curious to try this with kalamata olives and sauteed red peppers or another time with mushrooms. BTW, the sauce has a tang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I was really curious about this recipe, and a little nervous about trying it, but I was pleasantly surprised by the result. I had no idea what to expect, but I ended up really enjoying it, and plan to make it again. I did leave out the extra water, but prepared the recipe exactly as stated other wise. I had no issues with the sauce separating. It did have a little kick to it tho, to much for my kids, so next time I will not use as much pepper sauce, and I think I will try adding onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Yeah, definitely needs some tinkering, and the it's really good. I also put a handful of feta cheese on top, and a handful of kalamata olives. Hunk of italian bread, glass of wine, gotta love it. Definitely take the advice of the other comments. Maybe it's a bit of an acquired taste, but I think it's good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is really good, just be sure to leave the water out ; I didn't find that it was needed but if you do you can just add some of the pasta water until its at the consistency you like. Once I mixed the tahini and yogurt, I felt it needed more tahini & garlic, so I'd recommend adjusting to your personal taste. Overall it is a very tasty and filling dish....it just needs some adjustments in the preparation. I will be making it again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very good! I mixed up the sauce without water and let it stand in a bowl, then sauteed some onions, garlic, cayenne, and smoked paprika in olive oil. Added some roasted red peppers and the cooked pasta and tossed with the sauce. Drizzled a little extra olive oil on top- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States