Pasta With Veggies In a Tahini and Yogurt Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Don't be afraid of this recipe. I've been intrigued by it for awhile but was concerned about some of the negative reviews. It turned out excellent for me. Some tips that I think will solve other's problems: 1. You don't need water, the yogurt produces a nice creamy sauce without it. 2. If you think it's bland, add more garlic and hot sauce/cayanne. 3. To avoid the curdle problem altogether, wisk the sauce ingredients together and add to the completed dish w/out heating. The heat of the noodles and veggies will warm the sauce plenty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I think that this is a great recipe, just poorly constructed. Instead of taking the time to strain the healthy whey out of the yogurt, just decrease the water according to how thin your yogurt is. Also it is too runny to begin with, so either way you should decrease the amount of water. Also, there are tons of other options for the veggies. I also used cayenne instead of hot sauce, and added cumin. I also used an extra tablespoon of tahini. Do be extra careful to not overheat it though because it will curdle and there is no going back after that. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
The beauty of this recipe is that it can include any vegetables that you like. In fact, I think there are far better choices than those suggested (and a lot more of them), including peppers of all colours, carrots, red onion, asparagus... Definitely too much water in the recipe; I use half of what's recommended. Parmesan cheese or feta cheese are both good toppings. I have also substituted 1/2 lime for the lemon and it's good. Good recipe, great taste. Leftovers also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I tried this recipe because I had so much tahini in my pantry, and thought the sauce had a really great flavor (I used cayenne peppar instead of tabasco and also added a bit of cumin). It was extremely thin and runny, however. I'll probably use about half the amount of water next time. Otherwise, this was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
I made this after a really long, tiring day. My hunger had escalated to lightheadedness as I sat down to eat at 9:30 p.m. One bite - bleagh! I tried two bites to justify the time spent cooking it while my husband mustered down a few more so I wouldn't feel so sad about cooking a horrible meal. I ended up throwing all of it straight into the trash. No flavor. And the sauce has a strange texture to it. Like curdled milk spiked with too much lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great! I did tinker the recipe (actually used the recipe as a guide and did my own thing.) This is a keeper and it seems like one can go in many directions in terms of veggies and added spices herbs. I used mostly the same ingredients (but for eg. used low fat yogurt instead and diff veggies) and eyeballed quantity bc I planned to use 1/2 box of ziti. I used a full bag frozen veggies. I sauteed chicken cut up with chopped onion. Threw in some chopped fresh parsley. I added cumin and paprika and ground cayenne to the sauce. Also I did not added the recommended water to the sauce I ended up saving pasta water to thin down if needed after all was mixed. The sauce I added after everything was mixed to avoid curdling as per one of the other users suggestions (avoiding heating over a flame.) It worked. I am curious to try this with kalamata olives and sauteed red peppers or another time with mushrooms. BTW, the sauce has a tang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Not a fan...thought it was very bland. I did use less water as other's instructed, but it was still a little watery. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very good! I mixed up the sauce without water and let it stand in a bowl, then sauteed some onions, garlic, cayenne, and smoked paprika in olive oil. Added some roasted red peppers and the cooked pasta and tossed with the sauce. Drizzled a little extra olive oil on top- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
this was alright...but it was missing a little something something -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
i followed the suggestions from other reviewers and i added, of all things, coarse ground dijon mustard. why? i dont know but YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States