Pasta With Veggies In a Tahini and Yogurt Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Don't be afraid of this recipe. I've been intrigued by it for awhile but was concerned about some of the negative reviews. It turned out excellent for me. Some tips that I think will solve other's problems: 1. You don't need water, the yogurt produces a nice creamy sauce without it. 2. If you think it's bland, add more garlic and hot sauce/cayanne. 3. To avoid the curdle problem altogether, wisk the sauce ingredients together and add to the completed dish w/out heating. The heat of the noodles and veggies will warm the sauce plenty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Not a fan...thought it was very bland. I did use less water as other's instructed, but it was still a little watery. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I think that this is a great recipe, just poorly constructed. Instead of taking the time to strain the healthy whey out of the yogurt, just decrease the water according to how thin your yogurt is. Also it is too runny to begin with, so either way you should decrease the amount of water. Also, there are tons of other options for the veggies. I also used cayenne instead of hot sauce, and added cumin. I also used an extra tablespoon of tahini. Do be extra careful to not overheat it though because it will curdle and there is no going back after that. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I wish I would have read the comments before I tried this. I knew it was a tough audience, my dad. Way too much water in the recipe. Otherwise it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieFR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
My oldest daughter is always willing to try anything and I was intrigued by this recipe. I'm always looking for something different for her. I added mushrooms to the vegetables but that was my only change. Whilst my daughter liked this she said it was a little bit sweet for her tastes, although I used unsweetened plain yogurt. I'm not sure this will be on the menu again. Thanks for giving me the chance to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Rave reviews! I cut the water, added cumin, chili pepper, red onion, and celery. Fabulous, tangy, and I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Yeah, definitely needs some tinkering, and the it's really good. I also put a handful of feta cheese on top, and a handful of kalamata olives. Hunk of italian bread, glass of wine, gotta love it. Definitely take the advice of the other comments. Maybe it's a bit of an acquired taste, but I think it's good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
It needs more garlic and less liquid, but then it'll taste great! I used a lot more veggies than called for, and threw in some leftover grilled chicken to simmer. This is a fun and different sauce I look forward to tinkering with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Tasty! I'm happy to have another use for tahini besides hummus. Per reviewer comments, I reduced the water by half and also added cumin and chili powder. Other alterations: penne instead of egg noodles and onion in place of zucchini. Adjusting the salt and pepper really enhanced the tahini/yogurt flavor. Will make again... sauce would be great with brown rice & veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
We found this bland, even tho we added extra hot sauce and veggies. Also not crazy about the sauce . most likely will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States