Pasta With Veggies In a Tahini and Yogurt Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is not a keeper for me. First, it's way too much pasta. I only used 8 oz and it was still too much. Second, I think it needs more veggies. Easy enough to fix. I suggest adding broccoli and onions. Like others, I reduced the amount of water in the sauce to 1/2 a cup and I just added the sauce to the warm pasta and veggies to prevent curdling. Both are great suggestions that work well. It just didn't taste good and was pretty bland. Needs more...something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is really good, just be sure to leave the water out ; I didn't find that it was needed but if you do you can just add some of the pasta water until its at the consistency you like. Once I mixed the tahini and yogurt, I felt it needed more tahini & garlic, so I'd recommend adjusting to your personal taste. Overall it is a very tasty and filling dish....it just needs some adjustments in the preparation. I will be making it again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yummy. Based on other reviews, I don't think I used any water to avoid a runny sauce. If I added any liquid, it might have been vegetable broth. Can't remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Pretty good, nice change of pace from the usual pasta sauces. I didn't have pepper sauce so I left it out but will make sure to add it if I make this again in future, could have used the kick. Also, based on other reviews, I eliminated the water from the sauce completely and used a bit of water to keep the veggies moist during sauteeing. The sauce had a great consistency without water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very good! I mixed up the sauce without water and let it stand in a bowl, then sauteed some onions, garlic, cayenne, and smoked paprika in olive oil. Added some roasted red peppers and the cooked pasta and tossed with the sauce. Drizzled a little extra olive oil on top- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
this was alright...but it was missing a little something something -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
i followed the suggestions from other reviewers and i added, of all things, coarse ground dijon mustard. why? i dont know but YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I was really curious about this recipe, and a little nervous about trying it, but I was pleasantly surprised by the result. I had no idea what to expect, but I ended up really enjoying it, and plan to make it again. I did leave out the extra water, but prepared the recipe exactly as stated other wise. I had no issues with the sauce separating. It did have a little kick to it tho, to much for my kids, so next time I will not use as much pepper sauce, and I think I will try adding onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great! I did tinker the recipe (actually used the recipe as a guide and did my own thing.) This is a keeper and it seems like one can go in many directions in terms of veggies and added spices herbs. I used mostly the same ingredients (but for eg. used low fat yogurt instead and diff veggies) and eyeballed quantity bc I planned to use 1/2 box of ziti. I used a full bag frozen veggies. I sauteed chicken cut up with chopped onion. Threw in some chopped fresh parsley. I added cumin and paprika and ground cayenne to the sauce. Also I did not added the recommended water to the sauce I ended up saving pasta water to thin down if needed after all was mixed. The sauce I added after everything was mixed to avoid curdling as per one of the other users suggestions (avoiding heating over a flame.) It worked. I am curious to try this with kalamata olives and sauteed red peppers or another time with mushrooms. BTW, the sauce has a tang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I havent tried this recipe yhet but when I do I will cut down on the water and try it with Whole wheat Penne for a healthier twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States