Pasta With Tuna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was a little bland to begin with, so I doubled the lemon juice and added another squirt right before serving. I also had to double the capers, and added black pepper. The sauce was a bit thick for my preference. But, it was easy and quick. I will try again with tuna in olive oil, and double/triple the lemon and capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Delicious & healthy... it didn't taste 'fishy' at all and the acidity of the tomato actually made the tuna taste like chicken! I added canned mushrooms and a pkg of cooked frozen broccoli so I could get a serving of veggies when eating this for dinner. Once I added all that, I needed more 'sauce', so I also poured in a jar of marinara sauce (and tripled the capers, 'cause I love them!) It was really tasty on whole wheat penne sprinkled w/ a little fresh basil and feta cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I liked this recipe- it was good- wasn't amazing, but nice and quick for a night when you don't have much time but don't want to eat out. I didn't have fresh parsely so I added dried and it was still good. I also wanted more of a creamy sauce so i whipped up a little bechamel sauce in another pot and poured it on- it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Not too shabby! I was pleasantly surprised! I used 2 cans of italian-seasoned diced tomatoes, added plenty of black pepper, and omitted the onions. Topped with parmesan cheese before serving. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Changes I made because of what I had on hand; only used 1/2 an onion, 3 medium fresh tomatoes, and did not add parsley. Flavor was great, and I think this is a versatile recipe. Will try it with mushrooms or peas next time. My family enjoyed it, as it didn't have a fishy flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Very nice recipe as is. One thing you can do is add a cup or so of frozen peas to the sauce, and toss it all together with the pasta. It looks great, you get a bit of extra flavor with the peas, and you get the extra nutrition benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I am giving this four stars mainly because personally I am not a huge fan of tuna. But it was actually very good with a refreshing kick. I added more lemon juice and more fresh parsley, and unfortunately discovered too late that I was out of capers, although they would have made a good addition. It was still pretty yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Ok...so you already know I rated it four stars. But read on to how I got there. I am surprised and impressed with this dish. It is so simple that I thought, "How could this possible be good?!" But if the tough chefs at AllRecipes.com let it be posted that it must have merit; and it does! I prepared it mostly as directly with two exceptions. I used roasted red peppers sliced instead of red pepper and I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed. These were personal preferences and really not enough to change the essence of the dish. If you're looking for quick and surprisingly tasty and filling dish for your family, then click "Print Recipe" on this tasty tuna dish and get busy cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
i made this because i had a bunch of canned tuna sitting around. definitely needed more lemon so added some lemon zest. the lemon is absolutely crucial, do not make this if you don't have lemon. sauce wasn't great, but it wasn't bad at all. if you are poor, and want a really meaty ragu, this is your ticket. too bad it's just not yummy enough to eat all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I had my doubts about trying this, but we are trying to eat healthier, so I am expanding my horizons. This was pretty good. I followed the recipe except for the capers and even my picky husband ate it, but my five year old wouldn't. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States