Pasta With Tuna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
3 reasons I like this recipe: quick, healthy and economical. This is a great recipe to use when you are watching your grocery budget! I only made a couple of changes: I used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes and I did not use capers. It turned out great and not too dry at all. I would recommend only lightly draining the tuna, leaving some of the liquid for the sauce. I served it over whole wheat spaghetti. Next time I will follow another reviewer's idea and use albacore tuna. Great alternative to tuna casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
As a busy mom was a great solution for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I like every ingredient in this recipe, but I am not a fan of how it turned out. Very dry with a questionable flavor, like no thought was put into how the flavors would react with one another. I added most of another 28 oz. can of tomatoes to try to help the dryness of the sauce, but it just could not be salvaged. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This one's a classic. We recently had an Italian exchange student who offered to make us an authentic dish while she stayed with us––and this was what she came up with. Look at RPIPPY's take on this. The comments were right on for best tasting results. Oh, looking at the photo of this, I see it garnished with grated cheese. In Italy, cheese is not used with seafood sauces. They use dried breadcrumbs instead. Try it. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I was really surprised at how good this was - I was expecting a fishy taste, but it was not. I HIGHLY recommend using albacore tuna rather than the regular mushy tuna. Much better taste and texture. The capers are fabulous! If you don't have them on hand, wait to make the recipe when you do. I sprinkled fresh grated parmesan on top for a perfect finish. Also, you can make this just from what you keep in your pantry. I made a special category called "Pantry" for recipes like these for when I'm low on fresh groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Good budget meal. I added green pepper and used canned chicken as I didn't have tuna, sprinked parmesan cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
It was decent, but not very bold. Next time I might add more pepper flakes, capers, or even add some olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is such a great last minute meal. Both my husband and I really enjoy it, especially on those days right before you go grocery shopping and have nothing left in the pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
We used to eat this on Fridays during Lent. Only change I made was to use Italian style canned tuna packed in olive oil. Saute the tuna with the garlic and onion, add your tomato sauce and seasonings and simmer for about 20 mins. Serve over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Excellent combination of flavors. I used less pasta and more capers and lemons based on the other reviews. I also used whole wheat penne pasta. I really enjoyed it and will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States