Pasta With Shrimp, Oysters, and Crabmeat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This came out beautifully! Have to admit I added 10 oz. of frozen spinach (thawed) to the butter sauce because hubby and I needed some veggies...but the seafood came through nicely and the sauce really added richness. I'm sure it would be perfect without the spinach as well. I also served steamed veggies on the side. Very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Even though I made a few changes, the recipe rates 5 stars just for the versatility. I used angel hair pasta instead of bow tie, and only crab for the seafood. Because of this, I skipped the second part, and just used the 'sauce' section of the recipe. After I made the sauce, I threw in fresh spinach, chopped sundried tomatoes, the crabmeat and then tossed with the cooked pasta - topped with grated parm. I will try this with no seafood for my 'no seafood' husband, but what a great base to play with - simple, quick and tastes great. This is worth a try - Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I also added spinach, cooked and drained. I used about 1/4 cup of the liquid from the oysters to add to the butter garlic sauce, I put the rest of the liquid including that from the canned crabmeat into the boiling water for the pasta. I reduced the butter for the frying pan by half. It is a quick and easy recipe but it still seems to be missing something. I didn't use salt and that maybe the key. I think I'll try green onions, basil, and oregano next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This recipe was very good. However, I omitted the butter. I also followed another person's suggestion and added fresh spinach to the pasta. I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I didn't put oysters in it, and it was amazing!!! Thanks for the recipe!! My brother in law didn't believe me that I made it from scratch. I served it with Red Lobster type cheddar biscuits. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Phenomenal and simple to do! I also went with spinach rather than parsley, giving it even more chewiness. For more crunch, stir fry noodles could be added uncooked (like in salads)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T, it came out perfect, I did add some fresh spinach, eliminated the oyster & crabmeat. Family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Just like the submitter’s mother-in-law, our family’s Christmas Eve tradition is also a dinner of fish and seafood. It’s called The Feast of the Seven Fishes, and my guess is that Janet P.’s mother-in-law is Italian, as I am. In keeping with tradition, we tend to have the same seafood dishes year after year, but it was fun to try another family’s dish. I loosely followed the recipe, opting out of the oysters and using scallops instead. I sautéed the shrimp and scallops until nicely browned, then deglazed the pan with both lemon juice and a little white wine. I used Alaskan King Crab, only because it was left over from another meal. I didn’t bother measuring the ingredients precisely, just enjoyed myself with the “a little of this, a little of that” approach, totally immersing myself in the enjoyment of the cooking process. This is an absolutely exquisite dish that needs no amendments. My adding wine, while a nice addition, certainly wasn’t vital – the recipe stands on its own. If it wasn’t for the fact that our Italian Christmas Eve dinner menu is so carved in stone, this definitely would be a beautiful part of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used canned clams and calamari in this recipe and omitted the oysters. When making the sauce I used extra lemon juice, cayenne and a can of artichoke hearts. I also added an extra clove of garlic. The clams gave the seafood a lot of flavor and I did not have to use salt. When cooking the seafood, I sauteed a small onion and added 1/4 tsp of cumin and dried Italian seasonings. I also used more cayenne. I did not use butter when cooking the seafood. Overall the dish was phenomenal and very versatile! This is a great dish for the cook who likes to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was delicous! My guests are still talking about it. The only changes I made were to use whole wheat fettucine and add sliced cherry tomatoes. I also added more shrimp and crabmeat and grated parmesan at the end. It made enough to feed 10 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States