Pasta Siciliano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Excellent! Quick, flavorful and very satisfying! Thought that it was a bit dry, so next time I'll start by adding an extra Tbsp. of lemon juice and two of olive oil. It's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I didn't really like this. I used less pasta than the recipe called for and it was still too much...too dry! I would cut down on the red pepper flakes too! The recipe has a good basis...next time (if I try it again) I will have to do some major tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Very tasty! We'll be making this often! DH and I both thought this could be served in a nice Italian restuarant. We added good kalamata olives, a mild domestic feta cheese, and sauted mushrooms. We also used penne pasta instead of farfalle. Turned out great! NOTE:Using 16 oz/ 1 lb. of penne was too much for my medium skillet. I ended up using 2/3 of the cooked pasta with the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A great dish. As others said, use Kalamata olives instead of the canned black olives. I added some parmesan and asiago cheese, but the dish would be fine without them. My only other suggestion would be to not add salt to this dish--the cheese and olives make it salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Excellent. As I started to put this together, I realized I had only a 12-ounce box of pasta and was worried that the proportions would be thrown off. Not to worry! I also added about ten large button mushrooms (quartered, added with the tomatoes) because I had them. I havent done much cooking wth sun-dried tomatoes, but this recipe may make me a regular! Great stuff (and not too salty, as I feared it might be withthe tomatoes and cheese -- but I did not salt the pasta water....). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is a definite winner...to cut down fat & calories I used only 3 Tbsp. of olive oil and used reduced fat feta. There are so many different flavors in this dish, it was quite delicious and we'll be having the leftovers for lunch today. Thanks for an easy and fast weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Absolutely excellent and easy! My husband and I both loved it! Thank you for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was really good. I added some grilled chicken. My husband said that it was a little dry, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I worked in a restaurant that served a variation of this recipe. We used Kalamata Olives and capers. Then topped with fresh shredded Parimigianno Regianno. This recipe is the closest I have see to the restaurants Sicilian Pasta. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
My family and I loved this. Although I did make some changes. I substituted 2 Tbsp. vinegar for lemon juice, grape tomatoes for sundried and omitted pine nuts because I thought they were fairly expensive at the store. I think the feta cheese makes the pasta dish way yummy! My youngest daughter doesn't like feta though, but I sprinkled some grated mozzerella on hers and she loved it. Chewy bread is a must for sopping up the evoo and vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States