Pasta Siciliano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A great dish. As others said, use Kalamata olives instead of the canned black olives. I added some parmesan and asiago cheese, but the dish would be fine without them. My only other suggestion would be to not add salt to this dish--the cheese and olives make it salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Excellent. As I started to put this together, I realized I had only a 12-ounce box of pasta and was worried that the proportions would be thrown off. Not to worry! I also added about ten large button mushrooms (quartered, added with the tomatoes) because I had them. I havent done much cooking wth sun-dried tomatoes, but this recipe may make me a regular! Great stuff (and not too salty, as I feared it might be withthe tomatoes and cheese -- but I did not salt the pasta water....). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is a definite winner...to cut down fat & calories I used only 3 Tbsp. of olive oil and used reduced fat feta. There are so many different flavors in this dish, it was quite delicious and we'll be having the leftovers for lunch today. Thanks for an easy and fast weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Absolutely excellent and easy! My husband and I both loved it! Thank you for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was really good. I added some grilled chicken. My husband said that it was a little dry, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I worked in a restaurant that served a variation of this recipe. We used Kalamata Olives and capers. Then topped with fresh shredded Parimigianno Regianno. This recipe is the closest I have see to the restaurants Sicilian Pasta. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
My family and I loved this. Although I did make some changes. I substituted 2 Tbsp. vinegar for lemon juice, grape tomatoes for sundried and omitted pine nuts because I thought they were fairly expensive at the store. I think the feta cheese makes the pasta dish way yummy! My youngest daughter doesn't like feta though, but I sprinkled some grated mozzerella on hers and she loved it. Chewy bread is a must for sopping up the evoo and vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
We've been making a pasta very similar to this one for years. The BIG difference is that no Sicilian in their right mind would ever use canned black olives. Take the time to find good olives. They are definitely out there in the regular grocery. But remember, friends don't let friends eat those nasty canned California black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is very similar to Macaroni Grill's Farfalle Renaldo, which hasn't been on the menu in years, and which I miss terribly. I made this with kalamata (Greek) olives, in order to attempt to duplicate the Grill's version, and it was pretty darn close! I normally, er, mess with recipes a great deal, adding extra seasonings, etc., but I didn't add anything to this, except some sautéed baby portabella mushrooms that I needed to get rid of. This was very fast and simple to make, and quite delicious - even vegetarian. My (carnivore) husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a fantastic, not to mention easy, recipe! We leave the olives out as we don't care for them but other than that we follow to a 't' without disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States