Pasta Shells with Portobello Mushrooms and Asparagus in Boursin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I used 6oz (most of a tub) veggie cream cheese in place of the expensive boursin cheese and the recipe worked out great! It really tasted like something I would get at a restaurant, ant the leftovers were perfect, hot or cold. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
We LOVED this dish! It's delicious. I sauteed the asparagus with the mushrooms, and added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I also used the garlic & herb boursin cheese. I had read the reviews which said the sauce was thin, so I dissolved 1 tsp of cornstarch in 1/3 cup of white wine and that thickened it up quite nicely. I was out of shells so I used angel hair pasta instead. This meal was yummy, super-satisfying, looked great and my kids ate it. What else can I ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Oh my! This is excellent! It was a bad shopping day - my grocery store was out of asparagus and did not have the pepper Boursin cheese, so I sub'ed in Garlic & Herb Boursin and broccoli. A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Mmmm, this is delicious! I used light Garlic and Herb Boursin cheese (I tried the pepper variety last Christmas, and REALLY didn't like it) and also added a couple of minced garlic cloves. This is super easy, quick and very elegant! Thanks so much, Jasmine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I loved this. I added some diced ham because my husband wants MEAT on his plate in some form. Didn't have shells, so I used penne. As others did, I cup up the asparagus and sauted it with the mushrooms. I used crimini mushrooms (which are really just small portobellos) because Trader Joe's sells them cheap! Also used garlic & herb boursin (also from TJs) because I couldn't find the pepper flavored kind. Will definately make again and I'll be on the look-out for the pepper cheese. The cheese was not expensive at all. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was a big hit at our Friday night family dinner. Because we have to serve 8, I used 1 1/2 pounds of mushrooms, a pound of pasta shells, one can of vegetable broth and 2 bags of select asparagus spears. I also used 2 containers (4.4 oz) of the light garlic & herb boursin cheese. The result was wonderful. It tasted very much like a rich mushroom stroganoff. It is not terribly attractive--it looks pretty much like the picture shown. But everyone liked it & requested that we add it to our regular rotation. While I was making it, the sauce looked very thin but once it was added to the pasta, it was great--just the right amount and not thin at all. I will make this again--by popular demand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Wow, this was DELICIOUS!! I can't wait to make this for friends, they'll think I'm the gourmet cook that I wish I was! I chopped up the asparagus and that was great because you could get a bit with every bite. Next time I'm making double the recipe because it was sooo good for lunch the next day but there wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Wow, very nice...even with the few modifications I made. Mixed a quarter pound white shrooms with 12 oz Portabella, added some Parmesan cheese plus about 1 cup of diced cooked chicken and 1 cup of prawns. Asparagus wasn't on sale, so I used one of the "Top Ten Healthy Foods" from this site....broccoli. I used about a cup of diced red and white onion also. It was supurb!!!!!! Next time I only added garlic and onion, plus using Rondele as well as Boursin Lite with a whole can of garlic broth (wanted more sauce). It's sooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
My husband & mother both 'raved' about this! They said it was just like eating in a fancy restaurant! I used Garlic & Herb Bourisn cheese, could not find the Pepper. Would definitely make this again. Fantastic! I would add more asparagus, just because I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
i made this dish, and it was amazing!! i added some garlic and my mom just loved it! said it was one of the best dishes she's ever had and could easily be a meal at a expensive restaurant! MMMmmmmm.. will DEFINITELY make lots in the future, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States