Pasta Shells with Portobello Mushrooms and Asparagus in Boursin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe was just ok. It tasted fine but not a lot of flavor. I also had to add corn starch to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
The sauce was very thin which is not what I expected. The recipe was bland. If I try it again I will probably add garlic and reduce the chicken broth to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My BF and I liked this as a base recipe. We made a few changes to suit our tastes. Firstly we didn't use Boursin cheese. Instead we used JL Kraft Specialty Gourmet Spreadable cheese, Parmesan, Asiago and Romano with Garlic and Herbs flavor. After we got the sauce together (I only used 1 cup of broth) it was still a little bit too liquidy so I added a Tbs of cornstarch to 1/8 c. of chicken broth, whisked it together and worked it into the sauce. We also added about a half pound of shrimp and two slices of Jalapeno Cheese for added flavor. It was really good. I don't know if it's because we didn't use Boursin but it lacked enough flavor for us without the Jalapeno cheese. I know it sounds super weird but I swear it tasted good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msxkitty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I use button mushrooms and regular cream cheese with black pepper. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Such a wonderful recipe!! Very easy to make. I also used Garlic & Herb boursin b/c it blends so much better with the vegetables. The only sub I have made is that after the first time making this dish I have started cooking the portobello's seperately as they tend to turn the entire sauce a "dirty brown." shade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is a yummy yummy yummy and simple recipe. I too used the garlic herb Boursin as I could not find the other. Although the combo of asparagus and shroom is aweseom, you could add just about anything and I think this would be awesome. Thanks for the super simple and yumilicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I sauted the asparagus with the mushrooms and added pepper and garlic to taste. I also used garlic and herb Boursin cheese. There was definately more pasta then needed so I plated the pasta and added the sauce to each plate. The flavor was there but I wish the sauce was thicker. May add cornstarch next time. We all cleared our plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Other than doubling the sauce, I stuck to the recipe. It was pretty boring. To eat it I had to keep squirting it with my no cal. buttery spray and sprinkling it with parm. cheese. Now I have a huge batch left over with no takers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I and my boyfriend (a chief) thought this was great! I used the less expensive garlic and herb spreadable cheese. I also cut the asparagus up into pieces and tossed it in the mix. A great meal, and a perfect side dish to chicken or steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon, & Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States