Pasta Shells with Portobello Mushrooms and Asparagus in Boursin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is one of our new favorite dishes! I did make some subs based on other reviews, but it really is amazing and really easy to make. I use an 8ounce tub of veggie cream cheese (extra sauce is always good, right!) and have done with and without broccoli instead of asparagus. I add some parsley, red pepper flakes, minced garlic, and garlic powder to the sauce once it starts simmering plus about a teaspoon or 2 of cornstarch to thicken it up. My husband asks for this about once a week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I changed the Boursin to Herb and Garlic (instead of Pepper) like others and changed to vegetable broth, because I'm vegetarian. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic! My non-vegetarian friends, husband and daughter (toddler!) liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious, but I will cut the asparagus spears next time, they were very unwieldy. We also used 3 tbsp butter instead of the oil, and deglazed the mushrooms with 1/4 cup of Burgundy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was pretty bland, maybe could have used a thicker sauce, but it was very good! We'll make it again - maybe adding some extra cream cheese, which we used instead of boursin cheese (lots of herbs added, of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Served this at a dinner party as a side dish with grilled lamb chops and it was a big hit. I substituted the shells with Campanella and chopped the asparagus and added it to the pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This was easy and delicious. I used cream cheese as I didn't boursin cheese, added garlic, onions, leftover diced chicken breast and a lot more mushrooms, I use a little milk and flour to thicken it too. Yum, yum, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy
Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This is a delicious recipe, except that I used an 8 oz block of creach cheese instead of the boursin, melting it into the mushrooms, also adding a clove of garlic and some fresh parsley to add a bit more flavor. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was very good and I will likely make it again, with the following adjustments . . . I used a garlic-herb cheese spread in lieu of the Boursin, I sautéed the asparagus (1.25 lbs) with the mushrooms, I added a generous amount of ground black pepper and a bit of crushed red pepper, I cut the broth to 1 cup, and I added a few ounces of diced ham. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My family loved this dish! Ridiculously easy to make! I served it with sliced chicken tenderloin. Sauce was a little on the thin side - may boil down a bit more next time and/or add a bit of constarch. The mushrooms make the dish. Last thing: consder cutting up the asparagus and saute with mushrooms. WINNER DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I am a harsh critic but I have to say (with a few adjustments) this recipe is a huge hit! Adjustments are as follows: 1:Get the "herb & garlic" Boursin cheese 2: Use a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce before you mix in your pasta. It is so hearty yet so light at the same time. The flavour is full but not strong. This one is a five star keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States