Pasta Shells with Portobello Mushrooms and Asparagus in Boursin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Yum! This was delicious! I love how easily adaptable it is. You can use more or less of the mushrooms and aspargus to fit your taste and use whatever flavor of Boursin cheese that strikes you. I also think it would make a great sauce for steak and/or chicken -- eliminate the aspargus and pasta and reduce the chicken stock (to 1/2 cup maybe?) and you have an awesome (and easy) portobello mushroom sauce. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I have used the garlic flavor Boursin cheese and it works great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Slutsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was quite good. I added sundried tomatoes and capers. Next time, I might add mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is a great option for a "creamy" pasta dish that is still light. I used the light garlic and herb boursin cheese b/c it is significantly lower in fat than the pepper cheese and it was wonderful - I just added plenty of my own fresh ground pepper. I also added a pound of diced chicken, 1/2 cup chopped onions, and 2 cloves of garlic prior to sauteeing the mushrooms. I threw in about 1/3 cup of white wine too. I cut up the asparagus into bite size pieces and threw them into the boiling water w/the pasta. Before serving I also added some red pepper flakes for an added kick - delicious! I'm definitely adding this to my rotation - it's a great meal that you would never guess is relatively guilt free (as long as you use the light boursin of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAANDRSN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Delicious! I cut the asparagus into bite-size pieces for the kids and used rigatoni as we did not have pasta shells. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is excellent and my family loves it, but we always use cream cheese instead of the bousin because that stuff is too expensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My husband and I both love asparagus and mushrooms, but this was just ok. Probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Thisi was very good! I used regular boursin, not the pepper as I don't like it. Boursin was a good price at Trader Joe's and I really think it has a much better flavor than cream cheese, so I'd definitely stick with it! I subbed broccoli for the asparagus but I can't wait to try it with the asparagus when it's in season! I will definitely make this again! My only complaint was I wished there was more sauce; probably my fault though-based on other reviews, I cut the broth to 3/4 cup and then let it simmer down for awhile with the mushrooms before I added the cheese. The mushrooms gave the broth great flavor but maybe next time I'll start with the listed amount of broth so that there is more left after it reduces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Delish!! Easy to make, too! I did like some other reviewers, and minced 3 cloves of garlic (I really like garlic!) to saute with the mushrooms, and I subbed veggie cream cheese for the Boursin ($2 for cream cheese on sale versus $6.99 for Boursin... hmmm?). Also, I have a combination pasta pot/steamer, so I was able to steam the asparagus rather than boil it. And the husband and I loved it!! I've also made it with the Boursin, and while it's still yummy, the cream cheese is just as good, and less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy of 5 cats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
It5 just do happened that I had bought 3 packages of Boursin that I neded to use. I ended up usng two and a half for this dish! It was very good but to make it more flavourful you really need more boursin than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States