Pasta Shells with Portobello Mushrooms and Asparagus in Boursin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I had high expectations for this based on the reviews but was let down. My sauce turned out too thin, even after I added cornstarch. Was the broth supposed to be added to the mushrooms early so that they would suck up the juice and the broth would reduce? It wasn't clear in the recipe, so I added the broth at the same time that I added the cheese, so maybe that was the problem. I also added garlic to the sauce, and used the Boursin Red Pepper cheese, but I still found it a little bland. If I make this again, I'll try the Boursin garlic and herb and maybe a larger less expensive version, and less broth or reduced broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe was as easy as pie. It took about no time to prepare and I had almost all the ingredients on hand. Very simple yet DELICIOUS! I love Boursin so I was itching to use it in a great recipe - and this is IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwyne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I sooo want to give this recipe 5 stars because the flavor is that good... but the sauce is too thin. Delicious, but too thin. I'd use less broth or thicken with cornstarch the next time. I sauteed the asparagus pieces with the mushrooms (used baby bellas) and garlic. Whoever recommended getting the cheese at Trader Joe's was smart - it's half the price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This recipe was good, but I expected much more from the rave reviews. Several times I read the words "restaurant quality" but I don't think this dish even comes close to that. It is quick and tasty to be sure, but 5 stars it is not. Still, I'll probably make it again when I need something fast. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was so delicious and easy. I made it for a dinner party and everybody loved it including those that didn't like mushrooms, I'm sure I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
DELICIOUS!! will definitely be making again. make it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I'm glad I tried making this dish, but it wasn't quite as good as I was hoping. It was tasty, but lacked that wow factor that everyone else seems to be raving about. All in all, not bad, but not something I'd go out of my way to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was very bland tasting to me. Normally I don't boil vegetables because it pulls all of the vitamins and flavors out of the veggie. Next time (if) I make this I will sautee the asparagus as other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
amazing! tastes great. super easy. i also added some garlic. boursin sauce was awesome! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was very good and I'll be making it again. I almost gave it 4 stars, because the sauce was soupy at first, but it was easy to fix. I added a little bit of Wondra Quick Mix flour and it thickened nicely. I used the shallot & chives flavor of Boursin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States