Pasta Shells with Portobello Mushrooms and Asparagus in Boursin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was very good and I will likely make it again, with the following adjustments . . . I used a garlic-herb cheese spread in lieu of the Boursin, I sautéed the asparagus (1.25 lbs) with the mushrooms, I added a generous amount of ground black pepper and a bit of crushed red pepper, I cut the broth to 1 cup, and I added a few ounces of diced ham. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My family loved this dish! Ridiculously easy to make! I served it with sliced chicken tenderloin. Sauce was a little on the thin side - may boil down a bit more next time and/or add a bit of constarch. The mushrooms make the dish. Last thing: consder cutting up the asparagus and saute with mushrooms. WINNER DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I am a harsh critic but I have to say (with a few adjustments) this recipe is a huge hit! Adjustments are as follows: 1:Get the "herb & garlic" Boursin cheese 2: Use a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce before you mix in your pasta. It is so hearty yet so light at the same time. The flavour is full but not strong. This one is a five star keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
i intended on using the garlic & herb boursin, but i could only find the pepper. however, i was very pleased with the outcome! i doubled the amount of pasta to ensure enough servings, and i had more than enough. the sauce was there, but not overbearing. i also cut the asparagus into bite-size pieces and threw it in with the pasta (boiled without asparagus for 8 minutes) for 3 minutes, and everything was the perfect texture. the pepper cheese was not too peppery, but overall the recipe needed some salt. and my last tweak, i used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth (vegetarian!) a very good recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Delish!!! Couldn't get the pepper Boursin, so I used the Garlic Herb. I added 6 cloves chopped garlic to the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I couldn't find the "pepper" Boursin cheese but they had one with garlic and herbs which tasted great. At first I thought the sauce was too thin, but the pasta really soaks it up. I saved the rest of the chicken broth and added that to leftovers the next day to moisten. I used presliced baby portobello mushrooms because they were on sale and that turned out great too. This is a definite keeper. Great flavor especially for a meatless dish. We sprinkled with grated parmesan. I think you could use the Laughing Cow cheese wedges too for this if you can't fine the Boursin cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I didn't like this at all, but Ann claimed to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Very good and I will now use this for other vegetables too. I added the broth until it was a consistency I liked, but did not use all of it. The mushrooms gave off a lot of water while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shy422
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I really love pretty much anything with mushrooms, so I was excited to find this recipe. I just made it for supper tonight and it was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting the garlic and herb Boursin cheese. I also added some garlic to the mushrooms while they were cooking. My only complaint about the whole thing is that I wish the sauce was a bit thicker. Will cut down on the chicken broth next time and maybe add some more cheese of sometime. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Added the chopped garlic. Made with low fat veggie cream cheese instead of boursin. Served with Viogier. Added the asparagus for 3 minutes instead of 5 minutes. Fresh parmesan on top of pasta dish. Excellent company food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States