Pasta Shells with Portobello Mushrooms and Asparagus in Boursin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I wanted to get a main dish out of this so I opted to add some cooked, chopped chicken. The result was very good although if using a full package of dry pasta (I chose to use penne) I would recommend doubling the sauce. Boursin cheese is quite pricey so this makes for a pretty expensive main course. For this reason it is probably best as a side. I liked the idea of some of the other reviewers of thickening up the sauce a bit. I used some dry sherry and about 1 Tbsp. cornstarch just to give it a little body. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Wow, this was an awesome side dish! We love anything with mushrooms, so I am always trying to come up with new ways to use them. I followed a lot of other reviewers advice and sauteed the chopped asparagus with sliced baby portabella mushrooms, along with 2 cloves of garlic. I used the garlic and herb Boursin cheese, and thickened the sauce with some white wine and cornstarch. I topped the dish with fresh grated Parmesan cheese and crushed red pepper flakes...it was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was a great vegetarian meal! I also used the Garlic and Herbs flavor of the Bourin cheese. Next time I might substitute a little of the broth for some white wine. Also, I used Quinoa pasta which is very healthy. It is very tasty pasta and worked well in this dish. Husband and I both loved this recipe. Will defnitely keep this in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I made this using a garlic & herb boursin. I also added some spinach and black pepper. I replaced the chicken broth for vegetable broth. I noticed that the sauce was not thick and very watery from the broth. I was able to make it a perfect consistency by adding 1 tablespoon of corn starch (pre-mixed in a little bit of cold water so it wouldn't clump up). This was amazing and my boyfriend finished his entire plate... I didn't... it's a heavy dish!! We loved it though! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This recipe was a little bland for us. Also the sauce was pretty watery... Needs less chicken broth. My 2-year-old loved the noodles and sauce, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I loved this. I added some diced ham because my husband wants MEAT on his plate in some form. Didn't have shells, so I used penne. As others did, I cup up the asparagus and sauted it with the mushrooms. I used crimini mushrooms (which are really just small portobellos) because Trader Joe's sells them cheap! Also used garlic & herb boursin (also from TJs) because I couldn't find the pepper flavored kind. Will definately make again and I'll be on the look-out for the pepper cheese. The cheese was not expensive at all. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was a wonderful and simple dish. I changed the recipe a bit and used 4 oz of pepper jack cheese instead (that is what I aleady had on hand) and only half a batch since it was just for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Res

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
SO GOOD!! I used cream cheese rather than the Boursin, and could taste it, but it was still amazing!! I used whole wheat pasta to get some fiber. Will make it again as an indulging meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I also used the garlic herb boursin, and it was delicious!!! I also steamed the asparagus instead of boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This recipe was awesome, the whole family loved it. The boursin cheese gives it a unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States