Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I substituted skim ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese and used the whole egg. I cut down a little on the Italian seasoning and added some sauted garlic and onions to the cheese mixture. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was great! I made a few modifications though. My husband and I absolutely hate cottage cheese, so I used skim milk ricotta. I included some minced fresh garlic and added a cup each of finely chopped carrots and broccoli to the mixture. Gotta get your veggies! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I chickened out and used part skim ricotta instead of the cottage cheese. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Use a meat spaghetti sauce to satisfy by meat-lovin' boyfriend. Delicious! Enjoyed the leftovers even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Yanno, I hate to be THAT person. You know the type. The person that changes everything up in a recipe. But I did it. I added one small onion and one garlic clove, minced and sautéed together. I also doubled up on the cottage cheese because it was just looking a little too spinach-y for me. And I'm reeeeally glad I did both of those things. It was wicked delicious, especially with a roasted red pepper/Italian sausage sauce over top. The cook time is right on, the amounts are perfect, and I'm sure it'd be just fine for some without the onion/garlic/extra cheese. The beauty of a good recipe is it's versatility, and this has it in spades. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was quick (not including cooking time) and easy. It was wonderful because we had all the ingredients on hand. My husband and I decided it was a keeper. (I especially liked the spinach.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Too much flavor of the italian seasoning. I would recommend cutting it in half next time. Also needed a little kick so I added some cayenne pepper which made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
i really loved these shells. they are so light and easy to make, and very much like the ones at a five star resturaunt. I ended up using a bit more sauce that listed, but i urge everyone to try this dish at least once!! thanks mamaclare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMACLARE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cobbs Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
There is a prominant taste of "sage" that seems to take over the recipe. The overall taste is very bland and it tastes like a typical "lowfat" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
Fast and easy. Tastes like it came from a high class restaurant for $20 a plate! makes enough for 2-4 when served as main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great base recipe! I substituted 32 oz. of Ricotta instead of the Cottage Cheese, 2 eggs beaten instead of 1. I also used a small onion and 3 cloves of garlic, tossed into my food processor and then sauteed in a tsp. of olive oil which I mixed with the filling. I thawed the spinach and then used 3/4 of the box and squeezed the liquid out through some cheesecloth and put it in the food processor to make the spinach finer. I also did not use jar spaghetti sauce....The sauce really makes a difference!!! I used the Best Marinara Sauce Yet on the site and this meal tasted GOURMET!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States