Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Loved these! I used homemade marinara, and left the spinach out of about a third as hubs is not too fond. I did add about a tablespoon of garlic powder and some red pepper flake to the filling. Nice to find a lighter stuffed shells dish-Thank you KDCG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Oh NOM! Made as directed except I used fresh spinach. This was really good. Fantastically easy. I've never made shells before but this is going to be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkin74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
After some alterations my boyfriend and I loved this dish. I'm a vegetarian and it's hard to find a meatless dish he'll eat, too, but he always requests this one. I cut the spinach by at least 2 oz. or it gets a little leafy and overpowering. I sub part skim ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese and only use one tablespoon of Italian seasoning. I found the sauce lacking unless you use a 24 oz. can. I also use closer to 18 and maybe 20 jumbo pasta shells to use all the filler up. I sometimes sprinkle the remaining 2 oz. of shredded mozzarella cheese over top before cooking to use it up. Personal choice of course. A fun variation is to use 12 lasagna noodles instead of the jumbo shells. Boil the noodles, let them cool a bit, and drop a scoop of the filling on an end and roll them up. The wet noodle sticks to itself to stay rolled. A 9x13 pan fits four rows of three PERFECTLY. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T and I loved it! I can't even think of any modifications that I would want to make. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Way too much spinach. I know it is healthy but I think I will cut it down next time. My husband doesn't usually like stuffed pasta, but he agreed I should make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was fast any easy. A great way to use of the fresh spinach I had in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was really good. I did add 1/2 lb of sausage that I needed to use up and I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. My husband, son and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made these for dinner last night and thought they were pretty good. I used ricotta in place of cottage cheese, used a whole egg, and used fresh spinach in place of frozen. They didn't have a ton of flavor but were an easy, filling meal. I think I will add some sauteed veggies and maybe some more spices next time to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Too much spinach! There was a good base, and definitely substitute the cottage cheese for low-fat ricotta next time. It has potential, and some of my family liked it, so gave it 3 starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I didn't prepare this recipe as is, but I rated it a five anyway because it served as a great starting point. I read a number of the previous reviews and decided to alter a few things myself. I added some sauteed onions, garlic and carrots to the cheese mixture, and only used about a third of the Italian seasoning. I also completely forgot the egg whites, but that didn't seem to be a real problem. I also used a canned spaghetti sauce with added browned ground turkey. My family all really enjoyed it, and everyone was excited to have leftovers to take to work tomorrow for lunch. I made enough for 8 servings, and served 5 - it looked like we had about enough for 3 servings left, so I would say it's a pretty accurate representation of yield. This is definitely one that we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States