Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I followed this recipe except I didn't have nutmeg and I used about 1 tablespoon of the italian seasoning. The filing was way over powered with seasoning. I think fresh basil or parsley would help this recipe so much. I will retry with fresh seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great base recipe! I substituted 32 oz. of Ricotta instead of the Cottage Cheese, 2 eggs beaten instead of 1. I also used a small onion and 3 cloves of garlic, tossed into my food processor and then sauteed in a tsp. of olive oil which I mixed with the filling. I thawed the spinach and then used 3/4 of the box and squeezed the liquid out through some cheesecloth and put it in the food processor to make the spinach finer. I also did not use jar spaghetti sauce....The sauce really makes a difference!!! I used the Best Marinara Sauce Yet on the site and this meal tasted GOURMET!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Too much italian seasoning and too much spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My mother made something very similar to this when I was growing up. I remember her draining the cottage cheese in a coffee filter, in addition to draining the spinach so it didn't get quite to soupy. She also skipped the nutmeg - it's a nice addition, but if you don't have some on hand, don't worry about it. I seem to remember my mother freezing big pans of these and reheating as needed. I'd be curious to know if anyone else has tried this and had success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSKOGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Good for low fat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was ok. My husband, however, loved it. The spinach was over powering so I may cut that amount in half next time and a little more cheese and use fresh garlic :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Loved these! I used homemade marinara, and left the spinach out of about a third as hubs is not too fond. I did add about a tablespoon of garlic powder and some red pepper flake to the filling. Nice to find a lighter stuffed shells dish-Thank you KDCG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Oh NOM! Made as directed except I used fresh spinach. This was really good. Fantastically easy. I've never made shells before but this is going to be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkin74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
After some alterations my boyfriend and I loved this dish. I'm a vegetarian and it's hard to find a meatless dish he'll eat, too, but he always requests this one. I cut the spinach by at least 2 oz. or it gets a little leafy and overpowering. I sub part skim ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese and only use one tablespoon of Italian seasoning. I found the sauce lacking unless you use a 24 oz. can. I also use closer to 18 and maybe 20 jumbo pasta shells to use all the filler up. I sometimes sprinkle the remaining 2 oz. of shredded mozzarella cheese over top before cooking to use it up. Personal choice of course. A fun variation is to use 12 lasagna noodles instead of the jumbo shells. Boil the noodles, let them cool a bit, and drop a scoop of the filling on an end and roll them up. The wet noodle sticks to itself to stay rolled. A 9x13 pan fits four rows of three PERFECTLY. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T and I loved it! I can't even think of any modifications that I would want to make. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States