Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Too much spinach! There was a good base, and definitely substitute the cottage cheese for low-fat ricotta next time. It has potential, and some of my family liked it, so gave it 3 starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I didn't prepare this recipe as is, but I rated it a five anyway because it served as a great starting point. I read a number of the previous reviews and decided to alter a few things myself. I added some sauteed onions, garlic and carrots to the cheese mixture, and only used about a third of the Italian seasoning. I also completely forgot the egg whites, but that didn't seem to be a real problem. I also used a canned spaghetti sauce with added browned ground turkey. My family all really enjoyed it, and everyone was excited to have leftovers to take to work tomorrow for lunch. I made enough for 8 servings, and served 5 - it looked like we had about enough for 3 servings left, so I would say it's a pretty accurate representation of yield. This is definitely one that we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe was a success at our house. I did tweak it a little using ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, but I also browned some italian flavored turkey burger and added that to the mixture and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymac2845

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My husband and I loved this. We used the cottage cheese and followed the recipe except we added pepperoni. Fantastic. Will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe. Update: I have made this 4 times now. It is very adaptable! Last time used fresh arugula instead of spinach and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made it with ricotta cheese and it was great!!! plus easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are pretty good, compared to the ones I usually make with ricotta. That said, I wish those who choose to rate the recipe would rate it as is, because I, for one, rely on the average rating when deciding whether to try a recipe. I notice quite a few reviewers used ricotta, or made other substantial changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Yanno, I hate to be THAT person. You know the type. The person that changes everything up in a recipe. But I did it. I added one small onion and one garlic clove, minced and sautéed together. I also doubled up on the cottage cheese because it was just looking a little too spinach-y for me. And I'm reeeeally glad I did both of those things. It was wicked delicious, especially with a roasted red pepper/Italian sausage sauce over top. The cook time is right on, the amounts are perfect, and I'm sure it'd be just fine for some without the onion/garlic/extra cheese. The beauty of a good recipe is it's versatility, and this has it in spades. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars because it is pretty close to perfect. I made a few adjustments according to what I had on hand. I used a little less mozzarella cheese than called for, fat free cottage cheese instead of low fat, and about 2/3 spinach and 1/3 bok choy leaves because I had that left over from a recipe from earlier this week. I may amp up future spaghetti sauce I use with meat and more veggies. Overall, it came out quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was really good. I used skim milk ricotta instead of cottage cheese. I also added a little minced garlic. Make sure your spinach is drained really well or it will be watery. I usually just squeeze mine in some paper towels or a cloth. I served this with Baked Chicken Nuggets from this site and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Definitely a first for me but they came out really well and my boyfriend loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States