Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I tried a "meatless" night on my guys hoping they would go for it. They ate the shells, but kept asking me what type of meat was in them. They ate them, but thought they would be better with sausage. I really liked them and would make them again, a few without meat for me, the rest with added meat for them. We thought 2 TB of Italian seasoning was a little much. The next time I will only add 1 1/2 TB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
My husband doesn't like spinach so instead I added cooked chicken breast. I also covered it with mozzarella cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
We make this regularly. We use ricotta instead of cottage cheese. I put the ricotta, spinach, egg, and herbs in the food processor and whip it all up. I also use homemade marinara sauce instead of jarred. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These are great! It takes a little time to get all the shells stuffed, so I usually only make them when my fiance has time to cook with me. If you want to make them a little more hearty, you can add browned ground turkey (or beef, if you prefer) to the filling. My fiance thinks there isn't enough sauce with the original recipe, so we add a little extra. Nothing else needs to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I followed this recipe except I didn't have nutmeg and I used about 1 tablespoon of the italian seasoning. The filing was way over powered with seasoning. I think fresh basil or parsley would help this recipe so much. I will retry with fresh seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great base recipe! I substituted 32 oz. of Ricotta instead of the Cottage Cheese, 2 eggs beaten instead of 1. I also used a small onion and 3 cloves of garlic, tossed into my food processor and then sauteed in a tsp. of olive oil which I mixed with the filling. I thawed the spinach and then used 3/4 of the box and squeezed the liquid out through some cheesecloth and put it in the food processor to make the spinach finer. I also did not use jar spaghetti sauce....The sauce really makes a difference!!! I used the Best Marinara Sauce Yet on the site and this meal tasted GOURMET!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Too much italian seasoning and too much spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My mother made something very similar to this when I was growing up. I remember her draining the cottage cheese in a coffee filter, in addition to draining the spinach so it didn't get quite to soupy. She also skipped the nutmeg - it's a nice addition, but if you don't have some on hand, don't worry about it. I seem to remember my mother freezing big pans of these and reheating as needed. I'd be curious to know if anyone else has tried this and had success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSKOGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Good for low fat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was ok. My husband, however, loved it. The spinach was over powering so I may cut that amount in half next time and a little more cheese and use fresh garlic :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States