Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made these for dinner last night and thought they were pretty good. I used ricotta in place of cottage cheese, used a whole egg, and used fresh spinach in place of frozen. They didn't have a ton of flavor but were an easy, filling meal. I think I will add some sauteed veggies and maybe some more spices next time to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Too much spinach! There was a good base, and definitely substitute the cottage cheese for low-fat ricotta next time. It has potential, and some of my family liked it, so gave it 3 starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I didn't prepare this recipe as is, but I rated it a five anyway because it served as a great starting point. I read a number of the previous reviews and decided to alter a few things myself. I added some sauteed onions, garlic and carrots to the cheese mixture, and only used about a third of the Italian seasoning. I also completely forgot the egg whites, but that didn't seem to be a real problem. I also used a canned spaghetti sauce with added browned ground turkey. My family all really enjoyed it, and everyone was excited to have leftovers to take to work tomorrow for lunch. I made enough for 8 servings, and served 5 - it looked like we had about enough for 3 servings left, so I would say it's a pretty accurate representation of yield. This is definitely one that we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe was a success at our house. I did tweak it a little using ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, but I also browned some italian flavored turkey burger and added that to the mixture and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymac2845

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My husband and I loved this. We used the cottage cheese and followed the recipe except we added pepperoni. Fantastic. Will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe. Update: I have made this 4 times now. It is very adaptable! Last time used fresh arugula instead of spinach and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made it with ricotta cheese and it was great!!! plus easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are pretty good, compared to the ones I usually make with ricotta. That said, I wish those who choose to rate the recipe would rate it as is, because I, for one, rely on the average rating when deciding whether to try a recipe. I notice quite a few reviewers used ricotta, or made other substantial changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Yanno, I hate to be THAT person. You know the type. The person that changes everything up in a recipe. But I did it. I added one small onion and one garlic clove, minced and sautéed together. I also doubled up on the cottage cheese because it was just looking a little too spinach-y for me. And I'm reeeeally glad I did both of those things. It was wicked delicious, especially with a roasted red pepper/Italian sausage sauce over top. The cook time is right on, the amounts are perfect, and I'm sure it'd be just fine for some without the onion/garlic/extra cheese. The beauty of a good recipe is it's versatility, and this has it in spades. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars because it is pretty close to perfect. I made a few adjustments according to what I had on hand. I used a little less mozzarella cheese than called for, fat free cottage cheese instead of low fat, and about 2/3 spinach and 1/3 bok choy leaves because I had that left over from a recipe from earlier this week. I may amp up future spaghetti sauce I use with meat and more veggies. Overall, it came out quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was really good. I used skim milk ricotta instead of cottage cheese. I also added a little minced garlic. Make sure your spinach is drained really well or it will be watery. I usually just squeeze mine in some paper towels or a cloth. I served this with Baked Chicken Nuggets from this site and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States