Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was ok. My husband, however, loved it. The spinach was over powering so I may cut that amount in half next time and a little more cheese and use fresh garlic :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Loved these! I used homemade marinara, and left the spinach out of about a third as hubs is not too fond. I did add about a tablespoon of garlic powder and some red pepper flake to the filling. Nice to find a lighter stuffed shells dish-Thank you KDCG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Oh NOM! Made as directed except I used fresh spinach. This was really good. Fantastically easy. I've never made shells before but this is going to be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkin74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
After some alterations my boyfriend and I loved this dish. I'm a vegetarian and it's hard to find a meatless dish he'll eat, too, but he always requests this one. I cut the spinach by at least 2 oz. or it gets a little leafy and overpowering. I sub part skim ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese and only use one tablespoon of Italian seasoning. I found the sauce lacking unless you use a 24 oz. can. I also use closer to 18 and maybe 20 jumbo pasta shells to use all the filler up. I sometimes sprinkle the remaining 2 oz. of shredded mozzarella cheese over top before cooking to use it up. Personal choice of course. A fun variation is to use 12 lasagna noodles instead of the jumbo shells. Boil the noodles, let them cool a bit, and drop a scoop of the filling on an end and roll them up. The wet noodle sticks to itself to stay rolled. A 9x13 pan fits four rows of three PERFECTLY. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T and I loved it! I can't even think of any modifications that I would want to make. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Way too much spinach. I know it is healthy but I think I will cut it down next time. My husband doesn't usually like stuffed pasta, but he agreed I should make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was fast any easy. A great way to use of the fresh spinach I had in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was really good. I did add 1/2 lb of sausage that I needed to use up and I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. My husband, son and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made these for dinner last night and thought they were pretty good. I used ricotta in place of cottage cheese, used a whole egg, and used fresh spinach in place of frozen. They didn't have a ton of flavor but were an easy, filling meal. I think I will add some sauteed veggies and maybe some more spices next time to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Too much spinach! There was a good base, and definitely substitute the cottage cheese for low-fat ricotta next time. It has potential, and some of my family liked it, so gave it 3 starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States