Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
We loved this sauce, the only thing I added was tomato paste to thicken it up a little. I'm thinking about using it as a pizza sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnycrocker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I thought this sauce had good flavor, but I have to agree with the reviewer who said it had more of a chili consistency. There was so much meat that there wasn't enough "sauce" to coat the pasta. I will make it again, but will double the tomatoes, tomato sauce and spices. I may also cut down on the meat portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Yum, we loved it. I used a few cloves of garlic and the canned tomatoes that i had in were roasted garlic flavor. Will definitely be making this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Very good basic sauce, but I'm glad I read the reviews first (the ones that commented on the fact that it's too salty!). So I eliminated the salt. And I used 1 1/2 jars of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomatoes and sauce, 3 cloves of garlic, and a cup of wine! I put it in the slow cooker for many hours and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathode

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
would give it five except for: at least double the garlic and omit the salt. The tomatoes, tomatoe sauce (if store bought) and the sausage already have prox 40% of your daily intake of sodium. If someone needs mores alt, put it on the table. A dish of fresh grated parmesan/romano would be a good compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Good basic recipe. But you can never have too much garlic! One clove? Absurd. How about 6? Fresh sweet basil and oregano might be good vs. dried if avaialble. Anchovy is essential, Along with a heavy dose of red wine, spash of balsamic vinegar. And Julia Child's magic ingredient at the end, BUTTER! It smooths the sauce out, and will work wonders. Rest in peace Julia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Our local Kroger handed out this recipe with a sample .... my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Good recipe as is, however I would emphasize Italion plum tomatoes and double the garlic. I always have side dishes of chopped black olives and anchovies for those who like to add to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Haiku: "Mmm, my mouth is full. Meat plus sausage is genius! Just a bit more spice." Very good pasta sauce with loads of potential to be even better. I had about 1/2 lb. worth of frozen meatballs leftover from making "Meatball Alphabet Soup" last week and threw those in while everything simmered instead of using crumbled ground beef. Gave the sauce a lick and decided it needed a little oomph, so I added 1/4 tsp. allspice and 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. Served over penne with mozzarella and parsley, and buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I made this once because I wanted something different from traditional red sauce. Made it actually for a date who is now my husband. Every time I make it people just flip and ask for the recipe. I use chopped tomatoes instead of whole but other than that it is just wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States