Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This was so good! I have been really hating ready-made sauces lately and wanted to try and make my own. This one was perfect for my family. Like another reviewer, I too added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and also added a full 28oz can of tomatoes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Can't believe I have never made a sauce using Italian sausage and beef at the same time. It was wonderful. I added a little bit of red wine and sugar to the sauce as well as using fresh basil from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I have been looking for a chunky meaty sauce, and this is it! I removed the casings from the sausage and instead of chopping them into pieces, I mixed the sausage with the ground beef. I used a 28 oz. can of sauce, and a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The onions do add some sweetness to the sauce, so keep that in mind when deciding how much to add. I used one half of a large yellow onion, and it wasn't too sweet. I also added some cayenne pepper to the sauce, and some parsley. This is a great beginner recipe! Next time I will try it with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was the best sauce I have ever tasted! The longer you let it simmer, the more flavorful it becomes. I skipped the sausage from the recipe and added a bit of flaked red pepper. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This sauce was a huge hit @ my Super Bowl party. Everyone loved it. The only thing I change was, I added fresh sliced mushrooms & a little more tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Very good! My husband loved it! I used diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elkdag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
great recipe! It rivals my Italian neighbour's sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a great pasta sauce! Tangy but not sweet with a perfect spicy bite to it. I won't be buying canned sauce anymore. The only thing I would change is adding about half the amount of salt called for. Oh and I also minced my garlic instead and used about 6 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I really liked this dish as did my girlfriend. The only changes I made was increased the garlic (which i do with any recipe) and added some bell pepper to it. I was definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
We absolutely loved this one. Requires a little effort, but well worth it. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States