Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I really loved this recipe. I added 1/2 lb extra ground beef, 8 oz. package of fresh mushrooms and a 29 oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of the 15 oz. can of tomato sauce. I also added a little bit of hot sauce for some extra kick and used 2 extra large garlic cloves! My whole family enjoyed the dish and said it was fantastic! I paired it with a wonderful organic mixed lettuce salad with an olive oil and lemon dressing. This will be one of my regular recipes in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very good recipes, I don't usually use canned tomatoes but I did for this recipes. It was delicious, but I didn't use sausage just lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just made this today! Of course we all modify and use what we have on hand. My modifications: add 1/2 cup sweet red wine, used a 28 ounce can of tomato sauce, and did not add beef as I didn't have any on hand. I also used Dei Fratelli Truly Tomato Petite Cut Diced tomatoes 16 oz. in a light purée. I served with a hearty pasta and mixed it all together and topped with mozzarella. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Excellent surprise. I love making my own sauce these days. So much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This turned out great! I omitted the ground beef (since I just had sausage on hand) and added green peppers and mushrooms (browned separately and added to the cooked onion/garlic mixture) and also reduced what was left of a bottle of red wine I had sitting around and added the reduction to the sausage as it was browning and it added some great flavor! Also used coconut oil instead of olive oil and because of the hearty ingredients you couldn't tell the difference whatsoever so I got the health benefits of using coconut oil and it didn't change the flavor - win win! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good sauce but it was a bit too dry after about 45mins of simmering and was a bit salty. So I added some of the pasta water to dilute the sauce to also to make it more "saucy". I will definitely make it again but next time I will decrease the Italian sausage and use more ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used a half-pound of italian sausage meat instead of round beef in the sauce, but otherwise followed exactly. Wow! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Great sauce! This is my new 'go-to' sauce recipe. Simple and delicious. The only change I made was instead of slicing the sausage, I just left it in large chunks when breaking it up with a wooden spoon. You can't mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe as a starting point for making sauce. i used fresh ingredients and the taste is so much more intense and heartier. In the magic bullet, I blended green pepper, basil, parsley, garlic, onions. I sauteed this with cumin, paprika, hot italian sausage. Then used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, omitted tomato sauce. Add salt, touch of sugar (to reduce tartness) and fresh ground pepper. Let simmer for 3 hours and adjust spices as it cooks. Unbelievable and everyone goes crazy over this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This pasta sauce was amazing! I used both the ground beef and ground sausage. It had such an amazing flavour! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States