Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I have been looking for a chunky meaty sauce, and this is it! I removed the casings from the sausage and instead of chopping them into pieces, I mixed the sausage with the ground beef. I used a 28 oz. can of sauce, and a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The onions do add some sweetness to the sauce, so keep that in mind when deciding how much to add. I used one half of a large yellow onion, and it wasn't too sweet. I also added some cayenne pepper to the sauce, and some parsley. This is a great beginner recipe! Next time I will try it with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was very good! I did not use the ground beef but only sweet italian sausage. I added 1/2 cup of red wine. I used the sauce with the Italian Sausage and Peppers recipe from this site. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this was a good one. I changed it a little. I used only sausage instead of adding beef. I served it on top of bowtie noodles with salad on the side. it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akblkbarbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Can't believe I have never made a sauce using Italian sausage and beef at the same time. It was wonderful. I added a little bit of red wine and sugar to the sauce as well as using fresh basil from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was ok, but was WAY too salty for me. Maybe it was the Italian sausage I used but if I were to make it again, I would use 1 lb of ground beef, 1/2 lb of Italian sausage and leave out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a great pasta sauce! Tangy but not sweet with a perfect spicy bite to it. I won't be buying canned sauce anymore. The only thing I would change is adding about half the amount of salt called for. Oh and I also minced my garlic instead and used about 6 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Very good flavor and so easy to make. My picky husband who really doesn't like spaghetti, even complimented me on this meal tonight. I got a lot of rave reviews on my homemade spaghetti sauce and it was not a lot of work at all. Yummy and thanks for the contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Stierly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Haiku: "Mmm, my mouth is full. Meat plus sausage is genius! Just a bit more spice." Very good pasta sauce with loads of potential to be even better. I had about 1/2 lb. worth of frozen meatballs leftover from making "Meatball Alphabet Soup" last week and threw those in while everything simmered instead of using crumbled ground beef. Gave the sauce a lick and decided it needed a little oomph, so I added 1/4 tsp. allspice and 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. Served over penne with mozzarella and parsley, and buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I made this once because I wanted something different from traditional red sauce. Made it actually for a date who is now my husband. Every time I make it people just flip and ask for the recipe. I use chopped tomatoes instead of whole but other than that it is just wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This was so good! I have been really hating ready-made sauces lately and wanted to try and make my own. This one was perfect for my family. Like another reviewer, I too added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and also added a full 28oz can of tomatoes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States