Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I have been looking for a chunky meaty sauce, and this is it! I removed the casings from the sausage and instead of chopping them into pieces, I mixed the sausage with the ground beef. I used a 28 oz. can of sauce, and a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The onions do add some sweetness to the sauce, so keep that in mind when deciding how much to add. I used one half of a large yellow onion, and it wasn't too sweet. I also added some cayenne pepper to the sauce, and some parsley. This is a great beginner recipe! Next time I will try it with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was very good! I did not use the ground beef but only sweet italian sausage. I added 1/2 cup of red wine. I used the sauce with the Italian Sausage and Peppers recipe from this site. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this was a good one. I changed it a little. I used only sausage instead of adding beef. I served it on top of bowtie noodles with salad on the side. it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akblkbarbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Can't believe I have never made a sauce using Italian sausage and beef at the same time. It was wonderful. I added a little bit of red wine and sugar to the sauce as well as using fresh basil from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was ok, but was WAY too salty for me. Maybe it was the Italian sausage I used but if I were to make it again, I would use 1 lb of ground beef, 1/2 lb of Italian sausage and leave out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a great pasta sauce! Tangy but not sweet with a perfect spicy bite to it. I won't be buying canned sauce anymore. The only thing I would change is adding about half the amount of salt called for. Oh and I also minced my garlic instead and used about 6 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Very good flavor and so easy to make. My picky husband who really doesn't like spaghetti, even complimented me on this meal tonight. I got a lot of rave reviews on my homemade spaghetti sauce and it was not a lot of work at all. Yummy and thanks for the contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Stierly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Haiku: "Mmm, my mouth is full. Meat plus sausage is genius! Just a bit more spice." Very good pasta sauce with loads of potential to be even better. I had about 1/2 lb. worth of frozen meatballs leftover from making "Meatball Alphabet Soup" last week and threw those in while everything simmered instead of using crumbled ground beef. Gave the sauce a lick and decided it needed a little oomph, so I added 1/4 tsp. allspice and 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. Served over penne with mozzarella and parsley, and buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I made this once because I wanted something different from traditional red sauce. Made it actually for a date who is now my husband. Every time I make it people just flip and ask for the recipe. I use chopped tomatoes instead of whole but other than that it is just wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This was so good! I have been really hating ready-made sauces lately and wanted to try and make my own. This one was perfect for my family. Like another reviewer, I too added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and also added a full 28oz can of tomatoes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States