Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Haiku: "Mmm, my mouth is full. Meat plus sausage is genius! Just a bit more spice." Very good pasta sauce with loads of potential to be even better. I had about 1/2 lb. worth of frozen meatballs leftover from making "Meatball Alphabet Soup" last week and threw those in while everything simmered instead of using crumbled ground beef. Gave the sauce a lick and decided it needed a little oomph, so I added 1/4 tsp. allspice and 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. Served over penne with mozzarella and parsley, and buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I made this once because I wanted something different from traditional red sauce. Made it actually for a date who is now my husband. Every time I make it people just flip and ask for the recipe. I use chopped tomatoes instead of whole but other than that it is just wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
YUM! Very meaty and wonderful. I might cut down a little bit on the salt next time because the sausage had plenty in it, but it was a super recipe and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I was disappointed after I finished making this recipe. In my opinion is was way too salty and I only put in 1/4 of a teaspoon of salt rather then the 1 teaspoon that is required for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Used Turkey Italian sausage, no ground beef,a 28 oz can diced tomatoes, and 28 oz can tomato sauce, (we like it saucy) and some fresh basil. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was ok, but was WAY too salty for me. Maybe it was the Italian sausage I used but if I were to make it again, I would use 1 lb of ground beef, 1/2 lb of Italian sausage and leave out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is one of the best meat sauces I have come across. My husband loves this recipe and so does the rest of the family. I'm generally a no meat on my pasta kind of gal, but this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was very good! I did not use the ground beef but only sweet italian sausage. I added 1/2 cup of red wine. I used the sauce with the Italian Sausage and Peppers recipe from this site. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this was a good one. I changed it a little. I used only sausage instead of adding beef. I served it on top of bowtie noodles with salad on the side. it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akblkbarbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States