Pasta Sauce with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe as a starting point for making sauce. i used fresh ingredients and the taste is so much more intense and heartier. In the magic bullet, I blended green pepper, basil, parsley, garlic, onions. I sauteed this with cumin, paprika, hot italian sausage. Then used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, omitted tomato sauce. Add salt, touch of sugar (to reduce tartness) and fresh ground pepper. Let simmer for 3 hours and adjust spices as it cooks. Unbelievable and everyone goes crazy over this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This pasta sauce was amazing! I used both the ground beef and ground sausage. It had such an amazing flavour! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
i made this for dinner tonight over raviolis. i did switch it up a little bit but it was delicious!! i added a little garlic powder and a sprinkle of cayanne pepper!! i used mild sausage ony because i like my sauce with a little spice to it!! i cooked for my boyfriend and his sister and they both fell in love with it, they couldnt stop dipping their cheesy garlic bread in it!! i will deff make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very good. I didn't have ground beef but it was still great. Don't think I will add the beef next time either. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna McCowan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made it exactly as written. My family loved it. I will make it again and again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great sauce! My boyfriend's family is Italian so he was spoiled in always having homemade sauce for pasta. He scorns even the suggestion of having store bought sauce. I tried the recipe out on his roomates and it got rave reviews. I am sure he will love it as well! I also used hot Italian sausage instead of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is a fantastic pasta sauce. I use hot Italian sausage in mine to give it a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used one very large onion and upped the garlic quite a bit more. I used organic tomatoes and organic tomato sauce. I did not add the salt. Because I had it, I threw in some sliced baby bella mushrooms when I sauteed the onion and garlic. After tasting the sauce, I added some more basil and oregano as well as a slug of red wine and a pinch of brown sugar. Nice quick sauce that gets better as it simmers. I don't understand the review that stated it wasn't worth the effort. This sauce took under 20 minutes for me, from start to finish, not counting simmering which takes no effort from me at all. My oldest son told me that he prefers spaghetti sauce made with sausage now so I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
yummy but dried out quickly. I'd recommend adding in more tomato sauce and letting it simmer for longer than the 1 to blend the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Good taste, but I'm not sure it was worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States