Pasta Salad with Homemade Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I looked up this recipe solely for the dressing. This makes a lovely red vinegar dressing. I use it with cold cooked pasta and a meat such as crabmeat or tuna. Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Plan ahead to make this one. Note the 8 hour chilling. Good for potlucks, it makes a large bowl of salad. Lots of ingredients, some of which you won’t have on hand. I bought some exclusively for this. Gets pricey too if you don’t have some of the stuff. I did have quite a few things. Very colorful with the meat, cheese and veggies, so don’t substitute or omit and ruin that. Cut the cost a little by using a couple of ounces less of sliced pepperoni, provolone and olives. Instead of chunks, cut pizza size pepperoni slices into quarters and provolone slices first into strips, then cut again into ½ inch squares. Only a 2 ¼ oz. can of sliced olives, drained, is needed. I used only ½ a red onion. There was still plenty of everything to distribute thru the salad. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made this according to recipe, only using all red pepper because none of us care for green bell pepper. I agree with other reviewers that the dressing really should be doubled if you plan on chilling it all day, which I did not. Just a couple hours was all I had today. I think if I make this again, I'd double the spices (salt excluded) and I'd add chopped tomatoes. As is, it's a very tasty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Sorry everyone but I only made the dressing in this recipe and it was good! I did add about a teaspoon of honey to get rid of the bitter taste!! Great dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I also only made the dressing in this recipe, but it is wonderful. Good balance of oil, vingegar, and spices. I only substituted ground dried mustard instead of the ground mustard seed b/c that's what I had in the spice cabinet. When I make pasta salad, I just use up whatever I happen to have in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisBride&Chef
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is a very beautiful, very delicious salad! I didn't change a thing. It was a HIT at the baby shower I threw. Prep time was much longer than what it said because of all the chopping. Save some of the dressing for later just in case the salad dries out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisBride&Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Pretty good pasta salad. I did change a couple things. I omitted the cucumbers and black olives (per our preference) I also chopped the vegetables & onion instead of slicing (more evenly distributes the flavors) and I used roasted red peppers (chopped), for more flavor and used balsamic vinegar in place of the red wine. Stable base recipe, that is easy to play with to suite tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
The best pasta salad I have ever had. The dressing, I think, is what makes this dish so good! I used turkey and ham instead of pepperoni and mozzerella instead of provolone. It was still very very good. I took it to a potluck and I came home with an empty bowl. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Very colorful and tasty salad. Prep time took a little longer than 20 minutes - lots of chopping. After the salad had marinated overnight, it seemed a little dry so I mixed up another small batch of dressing and stirred in to moisten it up a bit. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The dressing is awesome! I didn't have basil so I used Italian seasoning in place of both basil and oregano. I don't like the meatiness of this salad recipe so I added my own favorite veggies - green pepper, green onion, green olives, sun-dried tomatoes, savoy cabbage, parsley and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States