Pasta Salad with Homemade Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this pretty much following the recipe. I was going for 1 1/2 of everything. With all the dry ingredients I went ahead with 2 times the pasta. It was a good portion of all. For the dressing I went ahead and made 3 batches. I put 2 on the night before. Added a small amount of the 3rd just before serving. Next time I'll add the cucumber in the last minute, as it wilted too much. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I love it so delicious but to much spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My tweaks are to replace the dried basil AND the fresh parsley with fresh basil. I replace the cucumber with halved grape tomatoes. I use slightly less garlic, and I omit the pepperoni so that vegetarians can it it too. I followed the advice of another reviewer to save some of the dressing until just before I serve it, to re-moisten the salad, which works great! And finally, I have tried this recipe with both regular provolone and expensive sharp provolone from the deli counter. I definitely prefer the sharp provolone if I can find it. It really adds a kick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is a 5-star salad in this house, and it has a fabulous dressing! I used all the ingredients, except the black olives, as we are not fans of those. You really do need to let this cure for the 8 hours to achieve the maximum flavor. This makes a large amount, which is what I wanted for lunches during the week. I liked how the the flavors and the texture held up nicely for the 4 days it lasted. Definitely will be a repeat in our house. Thanks, BONNIES for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
this is a 5.....awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Yum, yum, YUM!! Made this as a side dish for my homemade pizza (which is pretty darned good!) and everybody ate more of the salad than they did my pizza!! Made the dressing first so it could blend flavors a bit, using just a touch of sugar to mellow it out a bit (maybe 1/2 teaspoon), used mini bowties for the pasta and the only real change I made was to nix the bell pepper and use an anaheim as I like the milder flavor better. Seriously, it is the BEST pasta salad I've had. Major epiphany for me was to just go the the deli section of the supermarket and ask for a small slab of the meat and cheese instead of buying a whole sausage. Came to a little over a dollar a piece for all three. Will definitely do that again, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This pasta salad is delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly with one exception. For the dressing, I did not have red wine vinegar on hand, so I used balsamic vinegar instead. My husband loves this recipe! Great for BBQ side dish, or an easy meal during a hot week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
loved it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I found this recipe for the dressing, and I thought it was missing a little something. I made half the recipe at first so I didn't waste ingredients in case I didn't like it, and thought the garlic was going to be a little strong for my 3yo (I used old garlic, which has a stronger bite too). When I doubled my batch (to make a whole recipe) I left out the second clove of garlic and added 1 Tbsp sugar and about 2 teaspoons lime juice; it was perfect for our tastes. Probably just a personal preference on sweetness, but overall a great mix of flavors. After cooking my penne noodles I poured 3/4 of the dressing onto them while still hot so it could soak in, refrigerated, then the remaining dressing right before serving so they were nice and juicy. Tastes very Italian, but not like Italian salad dressing (which is what I normally use, but I ran out). Fast and easy, we will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was delicious. The dressing was very good. My only changes were substituting broccoli for cucumbers and adding chick peas. Also I used red and yellow peppers as opposed to green peppers. Makes a very colorful and tasty pasta salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States