Pasta Rustica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
We thought this dish was excellent it had a lot of flavor and was fairly easy. I did use (2)14 ounce cans of diced tomatoes, fresh garlic and herbs. The pepper flakes gives this dish a lot of flavor but can be tweaked for personal taste. Served with salad and crusty bread - a hearty meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
It was only OK, However to be fair, I used 1 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of the plum tomatoes. (I had one.. I needed to use it.) There was a really weird flavor to it/aftertaste that I attribute to the crushed tomatoes as well. I am assuming it might be much better with the different tomatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Yum! This is very easy--only prep is chopping veggies. I rarely make bacon for any other reason than eating it for breakfast or BLTs, and so I usually have a Costco sized bag of real crumbled bacon in the fridge. I just used that for this dish so didn't go through the whole bacon frying for this. I added a can of mushrooms for the bf, and used both green and black olives. If I'd made this just for me, I'd have upped the capers (I LOVE them!) but since bf is indifferent to them, I left as is, and he felt it was fine. I like the flavors in this, and it was a good place for me to use some of our tomatoes (we have a bunch I'm worried will go bad, so I chopped those and used a 14.5 can of tomatoes with them). Very easy and quick; don't let the long list of ingredients fool you. You can sub in this easily--and add or subtract ingredients to your heart's content. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I omitted the olives since my husband doesn't like them, but this was a fantastic recipe! Delicious and quick! I also doubled the red pepper flakes, for a nice and spicy dish! Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is a keeper! It takes very little prep work other than roughly chopping veggies, contains staples I usually have on hand anyway, and the smell of the bacon and tomatoes cooking is heavenly! I emptied the bacon grease to cut down on the fat but didn't clean the pan our before cooking the onions to keep some additional flavor. I also added a splash of red wine to make the flavor a little heartier and mushrooms for more texture. We were out of Parmesan, and it's just great even without cheese. My husband, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, loved this and had seconds (and he's on a diet!) I advise against using spaghetti noodles...the rotini or fusili make it easier to get the veggies and pasta together in one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy McElhaney Lichnerowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. I cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup, and used 1 lb turkey sausage instead of bacon. I've made with both black & green olives vs black olives & capers. Both are great! And don't be afraid to use the full amount of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was good, follow the ingredients but didn't measure. Next time I will leave out the bacon as it got a bit soggy and I didn't like the texture, however, liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was EXCELLENT! This had so many great flavors going on and everything went well together. Wonderful blend of textures too. I used the bacon grease and a splash of olive oil to sautee the onions, peppers, and garlic in. I used sun dried tomatoes instead. I cut this down to a couple of servings and it came out perfectly. I highly recommend this dish, it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
this dish was so good and so easy to prepare. i didn't bother with cleaning the skillet after frying the bacon...i just used the bacon grease and threw the rest of the ingredients in the same skillet. i also added basil and a splash of dry white wine and omitted the bell pepper (not a favorite here). i didn't even bother measuring the ingredients...this is pretty much a no-fail recipe. i tossed the sauce with angel hair pasta and it was simply perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
No need to carefully measure ingredients here, just add to your taste bud's content--that's the beauty and fun of true cooking! I prepared this pretty much as directed using a good brand of canned San Marzano tomatoes (the best!) and added a glug of Chianti to the sauce. The aroma was mmmm, so good, and the dish itself was delicious, flavorful and the perfect accompaniment to the "Grilled Marinated Shrimp" I served with it. As an Italian gal used to Italian cooking and food, I can tell you this combination of typical Italian ingredients is pretty good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States