Pasta Primavera with Italian Turkey Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This recipe is OUTSTANDING! I make minor changes to it and it comes out delicious everytime. I use one 15oz can of diced tomatoes (w/Basil,Oregano,Garlic flavoring) in place of the Roma tomatoes, I use Romano cheese in place of the Parmesan and I use a total of 1/4 cup of oil instead of the 1/2 cup. I love it with the turkey sausage but have also made it with grilled chicken. This is now my favorite recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
my husband made this for us tonight and it was great! he made a few modifications. he added mushrooms, and some fat free cream cheese and 1% milk to make it more saucy. tasted like a wonderful cream sauce but with much less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe and is easy to tweak according to your likes/dislikes. I also use one can of diced tomatoes (if I don't have any fresh) and I don't add green pepper. I also don't add as much parmesan cheese as it calls for. I've used the farfelle pasta but my favorite to use with it is campanelle. This recipe is a favorite of my husbands. And mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
We have a new favorite! If youre looking for a sauage/pasta dish that isn't all smothered in tomato sauce, then this is for you! The boullion and tomatoes make such a light refreshing sauce that really brings out the other flavors! For best results, I wouldn't advise subbing dried basil for fresh, (flavor goes down to 3-4 stars w/dried). Great presentation/colors, too. Perfect for company! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
What a wonderful dish! I presented it in a cooking class at church and received rave reviews. This recipe makes 7 cups and freezes well for the next go 'round. My modifications: bulk turkey Italian sausage, canned diced tomatoes with basil & garlic, zucchini and summer squash, broccoli, cauliflower & carrot mix, can of mushroom pieces, 1/4 c olive oil, green & red bell peppers and an Italian cheese blend w/ Parmesan, Asiago, Mozzarella and Provolone. This dish was 'tha bomb'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was delicious, with just the right amount of spiciness. I was a little skeptical about the addition of bouillon granules, but they blended in nicely and really enhanced the flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, although it's one of those that could be tweaked to one's tastes. I might try a variation on it using some different or additional vegetables or, perhaps,chicken instead of sausage. Having said that, both my husband and I loved it as is. Thanks for the recipe. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
We loved this. I kind of doubled it, used 2 lbs of penne, and 2 lbs of hot turkey sausage, because my husband has a tendancy to pick out the good stuff from the leftovers. Also, didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand, so used 3 14 oz can of diced romas. Waiting for those garden tomatoes to ripen; and then look out!!! This is going to taste even better. Used fresh yellow squash and whole basil leaves straight out of the garden, and even with the canned tomotoes, was absolutely delicious. Can't wait to make it again with the garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I made this recipe scaled down to 4. I took the sausage out of the casing before cooking it, added a small amount of Maderia wine, 1 small diced jalapeno pepper, and about 10 fennel seeds. My husband liked it which is a true test. I definately will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This recipe surprised me with how tasty it was. I was just looking for a way to use up the squash from my garden! I had to use canned tomatoes since my garden is only offering green maters right now. I also left out the green pepper since I don't like it. I used much less olive oil and instead used the juice from the canned tomatoes when I needed more liquid. I can't have cheese right now (and how I love fresh parmesan!), but I don't think the dish suffered at all without it. Don't worry, I got my fat grams by using full-on hot Italian PORK sausage. I highly recommend using fresh basil. Fabulous taste and easy to make with a nice zing - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I served this to 6 adults and 2 children. Even after doubling the recipe, there was not a bite left. I used half as much pasta as called for, all zucchini (no yellow squash), and hot Italian sausage instead of turkey. Now I wish those zucchini would keep producing a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Sausage Breakfast

See how to make this savory breakfast casserole.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States